Which oil for a 2014 F-150 Ecoboost?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I need to change the oil in my F-150 EcoBoost with 30K miles. I'm considering either the Shell Rotella for Gas trucks or the Valvoline Modern Engine 5w-30. I only drive my truck about 5000 miles a year and usually change the oil once a year. Which of these two oils is better suited for a turbocharged engine.

Go with the cheaper option.

Edit: they'll both be okay for your vehicle. Both are quality oils. Go with the cheaper one.

Last edited:
I went through a lot of different oil analysis and you might want to try Shell Rotella T6 5W30.

The Shell Gas Truck seems to shear too much...

Originally Posted by pharden
Whats RTG?

Radioisotope thermoelectric generator.

Oh wait he probably meant "RGT", Rotella Gas Truck synthetic oil.

I am not a scientist or an engineer...just a guy who was the victim of cam phaser destruction and trying not to let it happen again. Only 2 oils I would consider are T6 5W30 and Amsoil 5W30. Some guys will suggest a 5W40. My research indicates those two will stay within the 5W30 range and the biggest cause of camphaser destruction is viscosity.

The Rotella Gas Truck simply doesnt stay in grade...

Originally Posted by Navi
I went through a lot of different oil analysis and you might want to try Shell Rotella T6 5W30.

Shearing means what? Oils shear I'm sure the designers and manufacturers who make the grade recommendations account for this. Just because of shear is a lame reason for a motor oil recommendation. If shear was not accounted for Ford would recommend 0W16/20 for everything.

Originally Posted by dave1251

Shearing means what? Oils shear I'm sure the designers and manufacturers who make the grade recommendations account for this. Just because of shear is a lame reason for a motor oil recommendation. If shear was not accounted for Ford would recommend 0W16/20 for everything.

Depends on what the designer's goal is.