Confusion on oil to use on BMW 328i 2010

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I have a 2010 BMW 328i. I've read up on what type of oil I'm supposed to use:

Castro Syntec European Formula SAE 0w-30
Mobil 1 SAE 0W-40
Penzoil Platnium European Formula ultra SAE 5W-30
Valvoline SynPower SAE 5W-30

I've narrowed it down to Mobil 1 SAE 0W-40 because it is the easiest to find in my area. However, I am a bit confused about the difference between Mobil 1 SAE 0W-40 vs. Mobil Advanced, and Mobil European Formula.

I am a total novice at this and would just like to find the correct oil for my car. It's starting to burn oil more quickly as well. Any help is greatly appreciated.

As I posted in your other thread, what is needed is an oil that has the approval required by your owner's manual. All that brand stuff and the grades you posted are irrelevant, what matters is the approval. In your reading, what does your owner's manual give for the required approval?

The above 4 oils I listed is what is recommended by BMW on a link I found for my car. It needs to be LL-01. However, the Mobil oils today is named Mobil Advanced, or Mobil European Formula. I'm just wondering if I find the same 0W-40 but under different Mobil name, it will be the same?

Originally Posted by goldenjava
The above 4 oils I listed is what is recommended by BMW on a link I found for my car. It needs to be LL-01. However, the Mobil oils today is named Mobil Advanced, or Mobil European Formula. I'm just wondering if I find the same 0W-40 but under different Mobil name, it will be the same?

Technically, none of the Mobil oils in the US carry the BMW LL-01 approval anymore.

So if you really want an LL-01 oil, you can scratch Mobil off your list.

No it isn't the same if it doesn't have the same approval. Names and so forth are irrelevant, what is printed on the container as an approval is what's important. And not one that is "recommended for".