Shocks / Struts

Front tires on the 2014 F150 work truck I drive , had worn on the inside edges . Took the truck to a local tire dealer / shop we had used in the past . Told the service writer I wanted the front aligned , front tires moved to the back and tires balanced if they needed it . Service writer asked how many miles on the clock . Almost 100,000 miles . ( Shocks / struts were not leaking . )

He started trying to talk me into shocks / struts on the front , based on miles . ( Shocks / struts were not leaking . )

During the discussion / argument , I told him I have never had shocks / struts replaced on a company truck . I accused him of trying to up sell and I would NOT replace the tires / struts .

By that point , I would not have replaced them , at that shop , even if I thought they needed it .

Well , they finished & I have been driving it for around 1 months . All seems fine , so far .

Typical upsell. Just decline it. The guy might be right, based on his knowledge of the area and the vehicle in question, but if you didn't want 'em, just say no.

There is a chance that they might well be worn out. Not all shocks last forever.

Shocks don't have to leak to be worn out. The seals inside wear and your shock becomes much less efficient at damping out the oscillations. Also, many shocks have rubber bushings where they attached to the suspension. Those bushings will crack.

Originally Posted by Bottom_Feeder
'argument'? You 'accused him'? Really?

How hard is it to say, "I'm aware of the mileage and why now would be a good time to replace them, but no thank you."

Oh , the conversation started out calm . Thing is he was not going to take no for an answer . That rubbed me the wrong way . That & I have been driving since I was 16 years of age . Over 50 years .

Not saying the shocks were or were not worn out . Immaterial , the boss has never paid for shock replacement . Brakes , tires , engine repairs , yes . Shocks ? Never has come up . Not going to happen .