Shell Gas Truck oil...Im giving it a try...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by Garak
Originally Posted by burla
voa truck and gas is posted, this was multi vehicle in 2017, glowing difference is moly.. if I'm running anything in an eco boost, it will have a good dose of moly.

HDEOs customarily lack moly.

I'd rather have no moly than a oil that can't stay in grade...

Same here. Besides, in concentrations we see in most motor oils, it's a friction modifier and not at anti-wear levels. If I were running a turbo and were interested in "fine tuning" an oil selection (which is not to say that any specified oil is insufficient), I'd be interested in HTHS over any specific additive, particularly a friction modifier.

I am no scientist or engineer...just a regular Joe providing my personal unscientific observations.

That said the Shell Gas Truck is giving me .5 to 1 mpg lower on my truck. It is thicker than most other 5w30s...I have 3500 more miles to go before I can be more conclusive. Just an observation...

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Navi
I am no scientist or engineer...just a regular Joe providing my personal unscientific observations.

That said the Shell Gas Truck is giving me .5 to 1 mpg lower on my truck. It is thicker than most other 5w30s...I have 3500 more miles to go before I can be more conclusive. Just an observation...

This is well within driving styles differences. I have switched to a very thick non-rc oil and my mpg actually increased. Varying driving styles affect much more the mpg than the oil.
I got some questions answered with google and emailed Shell Tech Support. Why not T6 5W40 for your vehicle? It might damage the cat because of phosphorus. Its really designed for diesel engines. Email sent to Shell technical.

In a Subaru thread he talked about his shearing with Valvoline 5W30 full synthetic. So basically Valvoline and Mobil 1 5w30s going to shear to 5w20 weights.