Do you trust air filling stations?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'll never use crappy water-laden air from any small compressor except in an emergency. I have been filling thousands of tires for 15 years with dry Nitrogen. Like it, or not it works better than cheap air, and water.

What about getting a Tank filled with Nitrogen (1,200 lbs pressure) for filling and topping-off tires.
I use my tankless compressor but the hose is a hassle and very noisy.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pros:
1) Nitrogen
2) Many top-offs
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Cons:
1) 1,200 lbs of pressure / could be a bomb
2) Initial cost

[Linked Image]

Last edited:
I use a hand pump for bicycles to top off the air in my car and pickup tires. It's a lot faster than my pitiful 12V compressor.

The Wawas by me usually have a line of 3 or 4 cars waiting for air. It's very popular.

Originally Posted by John_K
Around here they were always out of order.

Same here. The tweekers cut the hose end off to scrap it. I have never heard of one that lets you dial the pressure. Just the usual one with a broken gauge sticking out of one end if it works at all.

Yes the air is completely free and they have a pretty sophisticated machine which has always been spot on. Apparently it is now out of calibration. The machine is capable of deflating the tire if it is over pressurized. I have a digital tire pressure display available in my dash. It is also very accurate. I always double check my tire pressure with a track quality guage. Everything has always synced except for this time. And also I believe the air machine has some type of water separator built in as I have never had even a spurt of moisture out of them.

I have a gauge in the console, so if I ever have to use air at a gas station I can check it with my own gauge. Mostly just fill at home when needed though.

Casey General Stores has free air.