Recent Topics
Deep Sumps
by RC_Kendall - 09/20/19 07:24 AM
Menards Formula Shell
by Duffyjr - 09/20/19 05:35 AM
Best Nubuck protector/waterproof
er

by PW01 - 09/20/19 04:14 AM
Aircraft Tempest Spin-EZ AA-48108-2
by Capt - 09/19/19 11:22 PM
Emission Readiness monitors
by bowlofturtle - 09/19/19 10:12 PM
Thoughts on the GM strike?
by Vern_in_IL - 09/19/19 09:37 PM
tropical storm imelda blows up everynight?
by motor_oil_madman - 09/19/19 09:12 PM
2017 Corvette / Mobil 1 ESP 0w40 / 5.2k mi
by dparm - 09/19/19 08:57 PM
2019 Lexus UX 250h
by Direct_Rejection - 09/19/19 08:56 PM
Gas theft
by tahoe_hybrid - 09/19/19 08:04 PM
Aisin 09G transmission fluid?
by sloinker - 09/19/19 07:44 PM
Oil for 2005 BMW X3
by Nyquist - 09/19/19 07:34 PM
Golden Eagles Take Down Deer and Wolves
by buster - 09/19/19 07:31 PM
P21S Windshield Washer Booster
by mclasser - 09/19/19 06:30 PM
Why warm up oil before a UOA sample is taken?
by paulri - 09/19/19 06:21 PM
Newest Members
Jeojevero, Repertech, Bluttoboy, Srfridd, V1313
69336 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
88 registered members (alarmguy, ArrestMeRedZ, aquariuscsm, 4WD, A310, 11 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,807
Posts5,066,996
Members69,336
Most Online3,532
Jul 30th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
modem in 1 room want phone in another room #5193004 08/21/19 02:17 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
R
raaizin Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
The phone service in our home is provided by our cable company. The modem is placed in a spare bedroom. I have a cordless phone set which the home base needs to be plugged into the modem. I would like to have the base in the kitchen area but would like to keep the modem upstairs in the spare bedroom. Is there some way to do this short of running a wire from the bedroom to kitchen preferably via bluetooth or some equivalent??

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193008 08/21/19 02:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
M
mk378 Online Content
Online Content
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
Buy a second handset for the phone. It will include a simple base that charges the handset. Place this in the kitchen so you can park the phone there and keep it charged. The signal that operates the phone will still come from upstairs.

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193019 08/21/19 02:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,979
javacontour Offline
Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,979
Do you have phone jacks in the home? If you do, plugging in the telephone line from the modem to a phone jack will power up the other jacks in the home. If you have NID device from the phone company on the side of your home, you may need to disconnect the phone company's lines from your home. Those boxes are put on homes to techs can test to see if the problem is in your home or on their line.

If you home is wired for phone service, if you "backfeed" a jack in the room with the modem, you can plug in phones in other jacks in the home.

I had AT&T uVerse and that is how we did it when we had a land line. The gateway is in my office and feeds the phone jack in there. But the base/answering machine portion of my cordless phone system was in the kitchen. We just plugged in into the jack there and it all worked just fine.

http://www.whoopis.com/howtos/telco-basics/


network down, IP packets delivered via UPS -BOFH
Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193020 08/21/19 02:34 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
R
raaizin Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 695
I would like to have base unit in kitchen since it has some features which would be nice to have in kitchen if possible

would this work?

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/sho...vv&c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd

Last edited by raaizin; 08/21/19 02:47 PM.
Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193032 08/21/19 02:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,565
F
FordBroncoVWJeta Offline
Offline
F
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 1,565
Originally Posted by raaizin
I would like to have base unit in kitchen since it has some features which would be nice to have in kitchen if possible

would this work?

https://www.dell.com/en-us/work/sho...vv&c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd

No, that is for internet.


2017 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4T - 2015 Honda CRV 2.4 - 2012 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 - 2007 Chevy Trailblazer 4.2 - 2003 Ford Taurus 3.0 Vulcan
Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193058 08/21/19 03:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,689
N
nthach Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,689
The cable company should go out to the demarc point for the POTS provider and disconnect the wiring pair or RJ12 jack(s) from the telco side of the NID/station protector. Then your tech can backfeed off the cable modem's voice ports to your house from the nearest phone jack.

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193066 08/21/19 03:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,117
M
madRiver Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,117
If you have a regular phone jack in your bedroom or near enough run a phone wire directly from modem to that wall phone jack.

I assume you have a wall phone jack in kitchen plug, if yes connect your cordless phone to that.

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193087 08/21/19 03:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 572
R
Rmay635703 Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 572
There are pairs of cordless phones that operate over ac wiring, only one needs to be physically attached to the phone line, the other just plugs in an outlet anywhere in the house.

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193088 08/21/19 03:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 2,390
H
hallstevenson Offline
Offline
H
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 2,390
I think most modern home phones can "talk" to each other wirelessly. I'm not even sure how they do it, if it's through the power lines or some proprietary 'wireless'. Here's an example:

https://smile.amazon.com/VTech-LS6425-3-Expandable-Cordless-Answering/dp/B004OA6X6C?sa-no-redirect=1

You say the phone has to be plugged into the modem but I'm certain you can run a phone cord from the modem to a telephone wall jack and then connect the base unit to a phone jack in the kitchen. Do you have jacks in (most of) your rooms ? For the other phones, I was going to say not to connect them to phone jacks, but they don't even have phone cords !

Re: modem in 1 room want phone in another room [Re: raaizin] #5193270 08/21/19 07:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,981
R
Rand Offline
Offline
R
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,981
Just get a new phone that has multiple phones and 1 base.

leave base in room with modem.. use other phone in kitchen.


2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk 2.0T
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™