Mitsuboshi Timing Belts

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have installed several over the years (Aisin kits) and never had a problem. On another auto forum, someone just posted to avoid Mitsuboshi timing belts because he had two that broke on him. I know Mitsuboshi makes some of their TB's in Thailand. Is it possible the Thai belts are inferior to the ones made in Japan? I am not a mechanic but have read extensively about timing belt quality and failure modes over the last 20 years or so. I can not recall a single case where a relatively new timing belt failed on its own. Failures are always a result of a faulty tensioner, WP or idler bearing. The only belt failures I ever heard about were ones with ridiculously high mileage, ie 200k +/-.

So, would you guys hesitate to install a Mitsuboshi timing belt? Thanks.

No hesitation! These are the only belts to use in my opinion.
Maybe this "someone who posted" about the Mitsuboshi/Aisin timing belt, may have installed them incorrectly?

We don't know all of the details or skill level of this particular "someone"!
Did this person cut corners?
Did this person NOT install a new tensioner?
What?...we just don't know the details.

Are there knockoff parts being sold around the world? We don't know this either!
In regards to quality:
Between Japan & Thailand, I choose Japan
Between Thailand & China, I choose Thailand
My understanding is that, Thailand has quite good quality coming out of their factories than China does.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Char Baby
No hesitation! These are the only belts to use in my opinion.
Maybe this "someone who posted" about the Mitsuboshi/Aisin timing belt, may have installed them incorrectly? We don't know all of the details or skill level of this "someone"!