WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not very tech savvy so please forgive me.

I'm looking to run internet to my pole barn that is about 300' from the house. (Not interested in running wire at this time.) It's my understanding that I can have a bridging device with an amplifier module on the house that's connected to the original router and a receiver module on the barn with an Ethernet port.

Also, is there such a thing that would give my barn WiFi signal from the bridge that would also have an Ethernet port? Would just another router work in this situation? (Router 2 connected to router 1.)

Is my method of thinking correct? Brand/ model suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Last edited:
Last edited:
Three hundred feet is easy if the path is unobstructed. A typical CPE can directly serve a phone, laptop, etc. 300 feet away if it is in the beam. I would only install a fixed receiving device at the barn end if wired Ethernet service is needed inside the barn.

I would look at a Ubiquity outside access point with a directional antenna.

Ubiquity also has some reliability inexpensive "air fiber" devices that will do what you want.

I like the Ubiquiti hardware though I never run it with their firmware, always OpenWrt.

The AirFiber line is for very long distance links and completely not what you need here. I would use a NanoStation of some sort. The dish types are likely too directional.