Recent Topics
Menards Formula Shell
by Duffyjr - 09/20/19 05:35 AM
Best Nubuck protector/waterproof
er

by PW01 - 09/20/19 04:14 AM
Aircraft Tempest Spin-EZ AA-48108-2
by Capt - 09/19/19 11:22 PM
Emission Readiness monitors
by bowlofturtle - 09/19/19 10:12 PM
Thoughts on the GM strike?
by Vern_in_IL - 09/19/19 09:37 PM
tropical storm imelda blows up everynight?
by motor_oil_madman - 09/19/19 09:12 PM
2017 Corvette / Mobil 1 ESP 0w40 / 5.2k mi
by dparm - 09/19/19 08:57 PM
2019 Lexus UX 250h
by Direct_Rejection - 09/19/19 08:56 PM
Gas theft
by tahoe_hybrid - 09/19/19 08:04 PM
Aisin 09G transmission fluid?
by sloinker - 09/19/19 07:44 PM
Oil for 2005 BMW X3
by Nyquist - 09/19/19 07:34 PM
Golden Eagles Take Down Deer and Wolves
by buster - 09/19/19 07:31 PM
P21S Windshield Washer Booster
by mclasser - 09/19/19 06:30 PM
Why warm up oil before a UOA sample is taken?
by paulri - 09/19/19 06:21 PM
Selling the 97 Camry V6 again
by PandaBear - 09/19/19 05:15 PM
FRAM Orange Cans
by KevGuy - 09/19/19 05:13 PM
Newest Members
Jeojevero, Repertech, Bluttoboy, Srfridd, V1313
69336 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
71 registered members (ATex7239, 4WD, 2002 Maxima SE, atikovi, aquariuscsm, 53' Stude, 7 invisible), 1,130 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics294,804
Posts5,066,971
Members69,336
Most Online3,532
Jul 30th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding #5191785 08/20/19 05:00 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11,210
D
dlundblad Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11,210
I’m not very tech savvy so please forgive me.

I’m looking to run internet to my pole barn that is about 300’ from the house. (Not interested in running wire at this time.) It’s my understanding that I can have a bridging device with an amplifier module on the house that’s connected to the original router and a receiver module on the barn with an Ethernet port.

Also, is there such a thing that would give my barn WiFi signal from the bridge that would also have an Ethernet port? Would just another router work in this situation? (Router 2 connected to router 1.)

Is my method of thinking correct? Brand/ model suggestions welcome. Thanks.


Last edited by dlundblad; 08/20/19 05:00 AM.

03 Jeep WJ 4.0 202k Edge 10w40 HM Fram XG16
02 Volvo S60 2.4T 186k M1 0w40 Mahle OX149D
97 Chevy Blazer 4.3 158k M1 EP 10w30 Supertech ST3980 (Ecore)

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191791 08/20/19 05:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 1,342
S
Skippy722 Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 1,342
Rule of thumb I’ve read is 300ft at most for WiFi outside, about half that for indoors.

You could try Powerline networking, but no promises it will work at all.


https://smallworkshop.co.uk/2015/06/28/networking-with-powerline-adaptors/

Edit - there is also this, but I have no experience with it. I’d say try this over the Powerline adapters first

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07FN3N1W3#Ask

Last edited by Skippy722; 08/20/19 05:34 AM.

2016 Chrysler 300S v6
2018 Dodge Grand Caravan GT

Slight Mopar obsession
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191817 08/20/19 06:56 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
M
mk378 Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
Three hundred feet is easy if the path is unobstructed. A typical CPE can directly serve a phone, laptop, etc. 300 feet away if it is in the beam. I would only install a fixed receiving device at the barn end if wired Ethernet service is needed inside the barn.

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191834 08/20/19 07:23 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
D
Donald Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
I would look at a Ubiquity outside access point with a directional antenna.

Ubiquity also has some reliability inexpensive "air fiber" devices that will do what you want.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191843 08/20/19 07:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
M
mk378 Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 2,127
I like the Ubiquiti hardware though I never run it with their firmware, always OpenWrt.

The AirFiber line is for very long distance links and completely not what you need here. I would use a NanoStation of some sort. The dish types are likely too directional.

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191890 08/20/19 08:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 9,438
L
Linctex Offline
Offline
L
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 9,438
I am in the same boat. Just learning about WAP's and such

I'm 400 feet away - I want to stream Pandora and occasionally look up torque specs and such.

What is an Access Point and How is it Different from a Range Extender?
https://www.linksys.com/us/r/resource-center/what-is-a-wifi-access-point/

I have looked at just getting a really long LAN cable, and it isn't much money.


"The evidence demands a verdict".
(Re:VOA)"it's nearly impossible to actually know the particular additives that are in there at what concentrations."
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191909 08/20/19 09:13 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,085
E
EdwardC Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,085
I like Ubiquiti's Nanostation for something like that. You could probably do it with a couple routers with the right firmware or settings, but the antenna design may not be ideal (think of it this way, if you don't have good WiFi reception in the barn now, the router you put in won't have good reception either. If you already do have good wireless signal in the barn from the house, you could just get a wireless to wired ethernet type adapter). Nanostations have a more directed beam angle that you can point to and from the barn, plus you can mount them outside. They're pretty inexpensive, maybe a little tougher to setup, but there are a lot of guides online. Checking Amazon now, the NanoStations are less than $50 each.

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/arti...o-Point-Link-Layer-2-Transparent-Bridge-

Here's a couple decent guides:
https://maitechnowiki.wordpress.com/point-to-point/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrEEOV5oA8Y

Last edited by EdwardC; 08/20/19 09:29 AM.
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: Linctex] #5191930 08/20/19 10:00 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
D
Donald Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
Originally Posted by Linctex
I am in the same boat. Just learning about WAP's and such

I'm 400 feet away - I want to stream Pandora and occasionally look up torque specs and such.

What is an Access Point and How is it Different from a Range Extender?
https://www.linksys.com/us/r/resource-center/what-is-a-wifi-access-point/

I have looked at just getting a really long LAN cable, and it isn't much money.


You should not go more than 100m from a switch to device. An access point is the WIFI part of a wireless router. An extender picks up the signal and rebroadcasts it. Its only plugged into 110V AC. Any permanent CAT6 cable outside should be outdoor rated, shielded and protected again lightning at both ends.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191932 08/20/19 10:02 AM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,117
M
madRiver Offline
Offline
M
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 5,117
I'd run a ethernet wire in a garden hose/cheap waterline and call it a day if earth material. Not hard to bury it a 4-5 inches below surface.

Wireless is just going to be pricey for exterior mounted stuff. Unless you can use a normal router with a detachable antenna and run antennas only outside on both ends.

What is your purpose for internet in barn. It will drive the solution. Eg a web cam vs phone use.

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: madRiver] #5191941 08/20/19 10:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,135
K
kschachn Offline
Offline
K
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12,135
Originally Posted by madRiver
I'd run a ethernet wire in a garden hose and call it a day if earth material. Not hard to bury it a 4-5 inches below surface.

I know the OP said he didn't want to bury a cable but I agree with your statement. You don't even need to use the garden hose, I buried standard Cat 5 cable to an outbuilding almost 10 years ago and it's working fine. I just took a spade and made a cut or slit in the ground and pushed the cable in about 4 inches. That run is about 200, 250 feet away. There is direct bury cable but honestly this has been fine and if it dies off I'll just bury another one.


1994 BMW 530i, 246K
1996 Honda Accord, 280K
1999 Toyota Sienna, 420K
2000 Toyota ECHO, 281K
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: madRiver] #5191952 08/20/19 10:26 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
D
Donald Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
Originally Posted by madRiver
I'd run a ethernet wire in a garden hose and call it a day if earth material. Not hard to bury it a 4-5 inches below surface.

Wireless is just going to be pricey for exterior mounted stuff. Unless you can use a normal router with a detachable antenna and run antennas only outside on both ends.


A pair of Ubiquity outdoor access point will be about $160. One on each building. The second one will join a mesh and its wireless uplink will be the first one.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191954 08/20/19 10:35 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,085
E
EdwardC Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,085
NanoStations are outdoor models and aren't that expensive, $100 for two of them and you're set. Copper Cat 6 can get fairly pricey, even without getting the direct burial type, then you still gotta bury the stuff.

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5191957 08/20/19 10:42 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11,210
D
dlundblad Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 11,210
I didn’t realize the bridge devices needed to be grounded for lightning.

We have a similar looking setup on the garage for the internet itself.. I don’t think it’s grounded.


03 Jeep WJ 4.0 202k Edge 10w40 HM Fram XG16
02 Volvo S60 2.4T 186k M1 0w40 Mahle OX149D
97 Chevy Blazer 4.3 158k M1 EP 10w30 Supertech ST3980 (Ecore)

Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5192044 08/20/19 01:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
D
Donald Online Content
Online Content
D
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 22,805
Originally Posted by dlundblad
I didn’t realize the bridge devices needed to be grounded for lightning.

We have a similar looking setup on the garage for the internet itself.. I don’t think it’s grounded.


We have damaged cable and switches from lightning. They cost more than $15. The surge protector (Ubiquity) are $15 and should be at entry to a building. #10 wire to a ground rod.

We switched a backhaul that was outdoors to fiber. We bought 125m of fiber that was preterminated for a little over $200. Our Unifi switch had two fiber ports. No lightning problems with fiber.

Last edited by Donald; 08/20/19 01:17 PM.

2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: WiFi “bridge” to outbuilding [Re: dlundblad] #5192104 08/20/19 02:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 692
N
NO2 Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 692
Another good option is the Engenius line of high powered access points/ wireless bridges. Is your barn steel or some material that blocks signal? If not, you could also run a directional antenna pointed at the barn which should work with any device located in the barn. I'd get a 2.4 Ghz band which has the best signal penetration if you don't have neighbors nearby. If you have a stone or cinder block foundation and you need internet access on that level, you'll need a repeater.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™