Funny oil change moment

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was helping a buddy change the oil in his truck earlier (not really helping, I was just there because we were hanging out).

He was getting more and more irritated because the last person who did it put the drain plug and filter on way too tight and he was having a heck of a time trying to break them loose.

Then came the realization that in fact, HE was the last person who had done it
lol.gif

Last edited:
I've been changing oil/filter since ~1969-70. The strangest thing I've seen is when I would unscrew & pull the oil drain plug and no oil would come out. I had to insert a screwdriver in the hole to move aside the sludge.

Then the oil coming out would be coal black/gray/muck. The yuckiest oil you've ever seen. Maybe 20,000ish miles on the oil change...IIRC. I wouldn't know how many qts of makeup oil was added during that OCI and IDK how many qts came out as it went into one of those 20ish gallon oil lift drain/whatever they're called.

It would've been better if the OP's friend jumped up and down like Rumplestilskin swearing and cussing the bimbo who overtightened things THEN realized he did it.

Want my "funny" oil change moment? "Funny" as in horrible and dismaying.

Moved out. Went home and decided to change the oil in my Dad's 1983 Buick Regal wagon (V6-don't ask which one but I wouldn't mind knowing).

Maybe 12 ounces of oil drained. Dear old Dad couldn't be bothered and NO, I didn't just break a Commandment.

I was watching a friend of my change oil when we were teenagers
He forgot to put the oil pan drain plug back before he started adding oil
About quart 2 or 3 getting poured in, then the oil started flowing out from under the car
That was a woops moment and I have never done it myself. Learned that lesson well

My worst oil change moment was my very first one I did when I got my car.

I have one of those used oil container things with the little caps you unscrew on the top or sides.