15 Forester 2.5 PP 5w-30 whirring at 1500rpm

Status
Not open for further replies.
2015 Forester 2.5 calls for 0W-20 oil. I have been using 5w-30 during the summer for the last 3 years. Last 2 years I used PUP. I had no issues whatsoever, never felt any difference due to the different weight oil.

This year I could not find it on the shelves so got Pennzoil Platinum 5w-30. Since I put this oil, there is a subtle whirring sound at 1500 rpm. I am not able to describe the sound exactly but feels like there is more friction somewhere. I can feel that vibration in the accelerator pedal. I do not hear the sound or feel anything in the pedal below or above 1500rpm.

There is no other difference. The car drives just fine. The mileage is pretty much the same.

Any idea what am I dealing with? The easiest option would be to change the oil back to 0w-20. This oil has 4000 miles on it (~80% highway miles) and next planned oil change is in late Oct. What should be the best course of action here?

Thanks in advance.

I really, really doubt it has anything to so with the oil. PUP and PP are very similar anyway.

Sounds like something else, engine mounts? CVT?

How much mileage?

Did you use the same brand oil filter? It could be a mechanical issue. Different brand filter, I might consider changing back to what was used previously.

@jbutch, the mileage is 35310. I hope it's not CVT

@demarpaint, I have only used the Subaru oil filter, change it at every oil change.

Originally Posted by MoneyJohn
2015 Forester 2.5 calls for 0W-20 oil. I have been using 5w-30 during the summer for the last 3 years. Last 2 years I used PUP. I had no issues whatsoever, never felt any difference due to the different weight oil.