Super tech Mercon V?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just wondering if anyone has used ST Mercon V before with good results? It'll be going in my 5R44E in my ranger and the price seems decent.

If it meets the Mercon V requirements, which it has too, then it should be good.

That's what we used in my brothers 01 Explorer sport when we changed all the lines and did a pan drop and filter change. It seemed to do pretty good in it.

I just changed the fluid in my ranger with the 4r44e with super tech mercon v. Shifts got noticably smoother.

Yep, did the full 15(ish) change in my 4r100 with it 3 times over the years, no issues with TC chatter etc.

OP
Same Truck and Transmission.
I've been using ST Mercon V for 9 years with NO problems / I like the price.

My Nephew welded a Drain Plug (hex nut) to bottom of my Pan
and I do a Drain / Fill once a year.

While changing the Filter once, I added a few more Magnets.

Note: My Ranger is 2 WD, but I bought a 4 WD Pan and use a 4 WD Filter.
I liked how the 4 WD Pan held more fluid and had a better 'low' spot.

[Linked Image]

Last edited:
I've never done a "drop and fill",
but I do pull a cooler line loose and let 'er idle in Neutral until I get bubbles, which is about 5-6 quarts.
Every 30,000 - 40,000 miles. (4R75E)

I have a large Baldwin BT839-10 filter inline (10 micron) also.

Ok it just got me thinking if I should go ahead and spend a dollar more a quart for Castrol brand Mercon v since autozone has it on sale right now 2 for $12 a quart.

Originally Posted by NavyVet88
Ok it just got me thinking if I should go ahead and spend a dollar more a quart for Castrol brand Mercon v since autozone has it on sale right now 2 for $12 a quart.

Just get supertech. Spending more money in this case i dont think will yield any better results.

Originally Posted by Linctex
I've never done a "drop and fill",
but I do pull a cooler line loose and let 'er idle in Neutral until I get bubbles, which is about 5-6 quarts.