How would you fix this cracked frame?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 1998 ford ranger has a cracked frame. The various places i read about this repair online seem to be in two camps. One is to weld on a patch panel and the other is to not weld as it weakens the frame but to bolt on a patch panel instead.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Safe T cap makes kits to repair that. It replaces that entire section of the frame

Last edited:
I did see that repair i just thought it was overkill and i didnt want to pull the front leaf spring hanger off. But. Its an option

I have zero experience with fixing frames, but would adding a patch panel require drilling new holes?
If so, you'd have to think about that weakening the frame, also...

joegreen, as the owner of a 2002 Ford Ranger myself, I have to ask, how did it crack ?
It looks like it was 'oil' undercoated (and that's a good thing).

Years ago, my ('77 Dodge D-100) had the left/rear corner hanging low (enough that it could not be driven).
The frame rusted thru where the leaf-spring bracket attached to the frame.

My Father and I jacked the frame up and welded some 1/4" thick patches to it.
We used angle-iron on top and bottom with a plate in the middle.
I never had a problem.

I guess I'm in the third camp and would consider getting rid of the entire truck. It depends on if you do the repair yourself or have somebody else do it, but by the time you put quite a bit of money into the repair, and knowing that the value of the repaired vehicle would be less than a similar vehicle that does not have a cracked frame (just try to sell your vehicle and inform the potential buyer about your repair would verify this), I'd be in the market for a different truck.
BTW, I have a '98 Ranger and if I was debating this, I'd go for the replacement truck. Your truck is 20+ years old.