Allegedly impossible - KL Cherokee diff fluid change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Been reading up on the Cherokee forum about changing the rear diff/PTU fluid on my 15 Cherokee. There's two fill plugs (one on each side) but no drain plugs. One guy has tried to suck it out but failed - has anyone here been done one? I think this place is a little more technical so that's why I ask here! Not ready to give into the "lifetime fill" argument yet...
Thanks!

Full disclosure, I have no experience with your Cherokee. But, if there's a fill plug, that means there's some form of channel from the plug to the "sump". Maybe there's some weird angles going on, but I can't see how a diff wouldn't be able to be sucked dry.

Sounds similar to the Explorer PTU service issues. Some packages did include a drain plug- maybe there is the same variability in the KL? People had also had success drilling and tapping a drain on the Explorers.

Interesting...two fills...no drain.

In the modern era, components like this are usually built as a module sub-assembly and pre-filled with fluid then delivered to the final assembly line.
The assembly people have done everything they can to do fluid fills off line for efficiency and cleanliness purposes.

But I have to wonder why two fill ports?

I'll be joining the "how do I service PTU club" as the wife just bought a Lincoln Nautilus with AWD. Ford tech makuloko shows how too mityvac the fluid out then replace it. Should be done every 15-20k according to him. Can't wait to tackle it......

Originally Posted by double vanos
I'll be joining the "how do I service PTU club" as the wife just bought a Lincoln Nautilus with AWD. Ford tech makuloko shows how too mityvac the fluid out then replace it. Should be done every 15-20k according to him. Can't wait to tackle it......

I did a PTU on a 2013 Explorer two weeks ago. Family member bought one used and I did some quick research and discovered the issues with the PTU's "lifetime" fluid.