15 year old oil OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DLP

Maybe a dumb question (I am a chemist so maybe should know better).

I just bought a zero mile 2005 CBR1000RR. I plan to use it as soon as it arrives (not going to keep it locked away).

Should I change the engine oil before firing it up? It has never been started or had gas in it. (I am assuming it did ship from factory with oil in it and not just fogged).

Thanks

I have oil in my garage from old projects that is 17 and 20 years old. It seems just fine and I occasionally use some of it. Heck, the oil in my lathe gearbox is every bit that old and still functions perfectly.

If the oil looks fine in the sight glass, and has no odd (rancid) smell, then probably not much risk to use it.

But like the suggestion above, oil is really cheap, so why not use fresh oil? That way, you can break in the engine on your oil of choice.

Last edited:
Apples and oranges I'm sure. My Predator had only assembly lube in it some oil but just a bit. I'd figure on doing a drain and fill, before fueling. Were they filled at the factory? At least check the level.

I would not change it.
Was it still in crate or was it assembled? Still in crate, not sure if oil is added at factory or at assembly point.
Regardless, 15 yr old oil sitting it the crank of a non used motor is fine. You do a 600 mile service anyway, just leave it till then.

Originally Posted by blupupher
I would not change it.
Was it still in crate or was it assembled? Still in crate, not sure if oil is added at factory or at assembly point.
Regardless, 15 yr old oil sitting it the crank of a non used motor is fine. You do a 600 mile service anyway, just leave it till then.
If it actually has zero miles I would be wondering what the FF is. Honda cars have special FF, right? I wonder if their bikes do, too?

Good find if you got it at a good price. Now if I could find a 0 mile Sandcast 750, 73 Z1 (or H1) for a few thousand.....