What are suitable coolants for aluminum engine + brass+soldered radiator?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm no expert on this. Here is an old 2004 article by a knowledgeable man that recommends conventional IAT coolant: https://www.motor.com/magazine-summ...easy-being-green-or-yellow-or-orange-or/

"Original equipment coolants are validated for factory replacement parts. One of the issues that may arise is the use of an aftermarket replacement radiator or heater core made of copper-brass with lead solder. We have in previous articles pointed out that today's coolant inhibitor packages contain a small amount of copper-brass protection, but may provide little protection if a radiator is made with high-lead solder. Results of industry standard tests of the new Toyota extended-life coolant now show a substantial weight loss (corrosion), both in a 50-50 mix and in a 33% coolant mixture (solder corrosion is much greater in this more diluted solution).

If you have to change a radiator or heater core, use aluminum. Or, if it's an older car and the owner wants the lowest-cost radiator, you might procure a soldered-together copper-brass unit. Conventional American coolant should provide better protection against solder corrosion, which can result in radiator tube restrictions and leaks. But no coolant provides perfect protection."

Much has changed since 2004 and I don't know how these new long life coolants do with copper/brass/solder.

Good old green, NOT an AMAM/Dex-Clone. My pick would be the Zerex formulation, with low silicates and longer life. G-05 can also work and it's a non 2-EHA formulation also with borate and long-life protection. You need nitrate to protect solder, I think.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by nthach