A New One on Me

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been changing oil on my cars for 50 years or so, so this ain't my first rodeo. But I had a new oil filter oil experience (sad, isn't it, when new experiences are oil filter-related).

Changed the oil on my 2015 Honda CRV about 2,000 miles ago and used a Wix filter for the first time. I used the specified 57356XP and tightened it the usual 3/4-1 turn after gasket contact. Checked for leaks and all was well. Checked oil level periodically since with no noticeable change in level and an absolutely clean garage floor. Came home today when that car was out and saw an oil spot. Checked when it was back and the filter was leaking at the gasket.

Replaced the filter with my usual OEM Honda and noted the Wix was on tight and had no visible defects.

So, this is a new and disturbing development that could have stranded us if the leak got lots worse in a hurry. Any theories? Has this happened to anyone else? Wix seems to have a good rep here, but I've turned into a skeptic.

Thanks.

Do you have any pictures?
smile.gif

Anything made or done by a human can mess up. I have a new car ordered and already have 6 Napa Gold oil filters waiting for it. I have no problem at all using WIX/Napa Gold oil filters. Did you inspect the gasket for tears, cracks??? Nothing above the filter was leaking was/is it?

It's possible the leak was at the base crimp. Typically a sealant is used in that area, and if there was missing sealant and/or a bad crimp job it's possible the leak was there and not the rubber base gasket.

About 4 years ago, I have had a wix/napa gold leak at the crimp where it meets the can, the same way yours was leaking.

`06 Honda Odyssey Application.

Originally Posted by demarpaint
Double gasket? A fluke...........

I've had this happen once and only once. I now make sure the old gasket is accounted for.
confused2.gif

If gaskets are sticking I saturate a rag with brake cleaner and clean the filter mount.