Recent Topics
I'm looking for a 0w30 A5 B5 oil
by Marco620 - 04/08/20 11:57 PM
Fill up those gas cans!!!!
by motor_oil_madman - 04/08/20 10:45 PM
Does anyone put heat shrink tubing over a connector plug?
by motor_oil_madman - 04/08/20 10:39 PM
Anyone ‘excited’ for API SP/GF-6?
by addyguy - 04/08/20 10:30 PM
O'Reilly online learning for .gov email addresses
by spackard - 04/08/20 10:26 PM
Welding Helmet Fogging Up
by George7941 - 04/08/20 09:54 PM
Detroit 4-53T 2009 Ford F350 Update.:)
by A310 - 04/08/20 09:48 PM
Thoughts on CAFE standards
by otis24 - 04/08/20 09:20 PM
PUP amazon 5w-20
by Koncrete_Cam - 04/08/20 08:54 PM
Duralube Trans Shudder Fixx question
by soulburner - 04/08/20 08:36 PM
Number of Spare Magazines You Consider Adequate?
by 2015_PSD - 04/08/20 08:24 PM
Troy Bilt TB6044XP string trimmer dies when hot
by 92saturnsl2 - 04/08/20 07:18 PM
JD Yanmar deisel engine
by yankees1 - 04/08/20 07:14 PM
PQIA Looks at Leading 0W-20's
by Jackson_Slugger - 04/08/20 07:03 PM
Marine oil in a passenger car engine
by Thunderbolt - 04/08/20 06:50 PM
BG SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Engine Oil
by JonnySaab - 04/08/20 06:42 PM
Buying oil filters: anyone buy them online?
by 53' Stude - 04/08/20 06:03 PM
Rampage muscle truck
by gfh77665 - 04/08/20 05:57 PM
Why is exhaust stupid expensive?
by IMSA_Racing_Fan - 04/08/20 05:34 PM
Castrol magnatec 5 qts of 0w20 for $14.15
by YoungEngineer - 04/08/20 05:20 PM
Newest Members
Hitmang77, mpstir, LMVLS1, Jotorobi, jhoffy22
71128 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
33 registered members (blufeb95, bbhero, 2010Civic, BrianF, Bailes1992, BlakeB, 3 invisible), 1,401 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics303,805
Posts5,242,166
Members71,128
Most Online4,538
Jan 20th, 2020
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander #5168271 07/22/19 04:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
I bough 4-2019 Camry wheels which had 235/45R18 94V. I will put a 245/60R18 snow tires on it to use on a 2012 Highland Limited. The Camry wheels do not have TPMS so I'm looking to buy some from Ebay. There are so many options out there. Help me out if you had done this before. Do I get used Highlander, new aftermarket, used Camry TPMS........


12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168289 07/22/19 04:57 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,227
G
Gebo Offline
Offline
G
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,227
Either get OEM Toyota or Denso. I finally purchased the Denso's.

I have done this and wasted money trying to save money. You could talk with your tire guy as they would know what works for your car. The last thing they want
is for you to keep coming back with that darn tire light on and them having to reset everything.

Where I buy my tires you have to get their approval of what they will install before you bring just any old brand in. They used Denso's in Toyotas.


'98 LEX LS400 305K
'02 4Runner 250K
'05 Lex LS430 90K
'07 Lex GX470 70K

Shell Gas and Truck 5W-30
QS HM 10W-30
Toyota ATF's and Coolant
Amsoil Gear Oil and Grease
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168334 07/22/19 05:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,994
N
NormanBuntz Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,994
I recently purchased two complete sets of tires from a Discount Tire store in VA. They only charged $60 per TPMS sensor. That's installed, programmed and warrantied for six years. The brand they used was Dill. No problems at all in the Ridgeline and M35.


Porgy Tirebiter: "Heavy on the 30 weight, Mom."
2017 Toyota Camry XLE, 12K, 2nd owner
2007 Honda Ridgeline RTS, 97K, original owner
2007 Infiniti M35, 115K, original owner
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168372 07/22/19 06:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,406
T
Traction Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,406
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool. That's one thing Chrysler beat them at years ago with a self learning system, which should have been a requirement by all manufacturers. The TPMS law would have been a great idea if they had made it a simple system for ALL vehicles, with real time pressure readouts easily displayed, and programmed with a magnet like Chevy did clear back in 1997 on the Corvette. The newer vehicle using wheel speed to check for a low tire isn't bad either, since no sensor is even used. But, by the time you notice the light, that most people don't even know what it means, they have already crashed anyway.

Last edited by Traction; 07/22/19 07:13 PM.

Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168389 07/22/19 07:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9,477
S
slacktide_bitog Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 9,477
ITM Uni-Sensor

Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168434 07/22/19 08:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 6,209
S
Snagglefoot Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 6,209
I’ve had good luck with aftermarket from Amazon for my Chev Suburban. My tire shop was able to program them and I programmed a set on my winter tires manually. The info was on you tube.


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168438 07/22/19 08:42 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,465
D
dblshock Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,465
disable the system


05 Lexus GX470 175k
640:1 TCW-3
M1 0W40 XG-3614
Toyo Open Country H/T II

06 4Runner SR5 155k
640:1 TCW-3
M1 0W40 XG-3614
Falken Wildpeak AT3W
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168476 07/22/19 09:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 6,209
S
Snagglefoot Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 6,209
Amazon.com

Search Toyota Highlander TPMS


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168699 07/23/19 08:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
I like Discount Tires that is close to me to mount my tires. Will check out Amazon and used Toyota ones on ebay.

What tool do you use to disable the system?

Last edited by Tundragod; 07/23/19 08:05 AM.

12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Traction] #5168770 07/23/19 09:48 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 9,341
E
edyvw Online Content
Online Content
E
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 9,341
Originally Posted by Traction
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool. That's one thing Chrysler beat them at years ago with a self learning system, which should have been a requirement by all manufacturers. The TPMS law would have been a great idea if they had made it a simple system for ALL vehicles, with real time pressure readouts easily displayed, and programmed with a magnet like Chevy did clear back in 1997 on the Corvette. The newer vehicle using wheel speed to check for a low tire isn't bad either, since no sensor is even used. But, by the time you notice the light, that most people don't even know what it means, they have already crashed anyway.

Unbelievably ridiculous.
I had that issue on Sienna. Put all seasons after taking of winter set. Light on. Went to dealership to ask about how does it work (coming from European cars, they automatically pick up signal, so was not aware of this mumbo jumbo). Guy in dealership said: best thing is to take down instrument panel and take out TPMS light smile


11' BMW 328i xDrive 6MT (Pennzoil Platinum Euro 5W40+ MANN filter)
11' VW Tiguan 2.0T (Castrol 0W30+OE filter)
15' Toyota Sienna AWD (Mobil1 5W30 EP+OEM filter).
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168777 07/23/19 09:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,687
S
supton Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,687
If you have an old WinXP laptop you can go on ebay and find a copy of Techstream for cheap. [Maybe you're good with computers and can get it to run on Win10, or maybe they finally ripped off a later version, dunno.] I have that and could read the ECU to get the values for the sensors. If you have this program (and it's cheap!) you could change to your heart's content. Just write down the values. Or take photos if you want.

I bought a Dorman to replace a sensor in my all seasons but it didn't seem to take. I was too cheap to put a set into my winter tires and since then I've gotten used to the light always being on, and as such I just haven't been bothered to look at it again. Not required for state inspection so... it gets ignored.

Toyota does have a pretty lame system for TPMS.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168781 07/23/19 09:57 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,687
S
supton Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 15,687
Originally Posted by Tundragod
What tool do you use to disable the system?

I'm not aware of a way to program it out; you could try hunting around on the model specific forums. I recall someone came up with a hack to disable on my Tundra, involved some diodes and resistors, which seemed overkill to me but I never bothered to read into it too far.

Electrical tape is a tool in some circles...


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 203k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 158k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 223k, his
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168805 07/23/19 10:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 242
For my Honda Accord, every Fall and Springs, I switch wheels, wait for the light to come on, then take the car to Discount Tires and they reprogram them (turn the light off) for free since I buy Winter tires from them. For the Highlander, I found this BLIZZAK DM-V2 SNOW TIRES, 245/60/18 - GREAT CONDITION! - $450 (LESS THAN 3K MILES). Since the tires are pretty good deal, I'm going to get it and see if DT can reset the light just as they do on the Honda.


12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: supton] #5168915 07/23/19 01:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,406
T
Traction Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,406
Originally Posted by supton
Originally Posted by Tundragod
What tool do you use to disable the system?

I'm not aware of a way to program it out; you could try hunting around on the model specific forums. I recall someone came up with a hack to disable on my Tundra, involved some diodes and resistors, which seemed overkill to me but I never bothered to read into it too far.

Electrical tape is a tool in some circles...

Disabling the system, or taking out the bulb is a really bad idea, plus it is illegal as all get out. Electrical tape is about the best thing to do if you must.


Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Traction] #5168942 07/23/19 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,545
N
nthach Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,545
Originally Posted by Traction
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool.

Yea, you need to get the sensor IDs and program them in with Techstream or a aftermarket scan tool with 2-way communication and Toyota/Lexus software. Toyota's TPMS implementation is half-baked, and if someone tries to press the TPMS SET button in the car with bad sensors or unprogrammed ones, you also lock out the TPMS ECU and it needs to be reset out of a loop: http://www.thetpmsforum.com/showthread.php?3807-Toyota-TPMS-stuck-in-a-loop

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™