Recent Topics
Man's best friend!
by Mad_Hatter - 08/23/19 06:53 PM
2007 Ford Fusion Cam Pics
by tig1 - 08/23/19 05:31 PM
Cloning a Lexus key
by Nayov - 08/23/19 04:23 PM
2011 GMC Acadia Shock/Strut Replacement
by panthermike - 08/23/19 03:49 PM
Confusion on oil to use on BMW 328i 2010
by goldenjava - 08/23/19 03:21 PM
Oil Confusion for 2010 BMW 328i
by goldenjava - 08/23/19 03:16 PM
ProSelect 27356 cut open
by Sayjac - 08/23/19 03:04 PM
Electrolux - Dryer reliability warning.
by pezzy669 - 08/23/19 02:37 PM
Microfiber Towels for different applications?
by Quattro Pete - 08/23/19 01:53 PM
Coated vs. painted rotors
by atikovi - 08/23/19 01:13 PM
New spark plugs, occasional misfire
by avacado11 - 08/23/19 12:34 PM
clean or replace o2 sensor?
by bionictony - 08/23/19 12:15 PM
Supertech equivalent
by Bettez88 - 08/23/19 12:06 PM
Federated OF Now Made in China
by Mr_Luke - 08/23/19 11:47 AM
Sourcing Particular Brembo Rotors
by RamFan - 08/23/19 11:22 AM
Intermittent Braking Vibration?
by Gebo - 08/23/19 10:59 AM
Northrop B-2 Spirit - First Cockpit Video
by john_pifer - 08/23/19 10:36 AM
ADBV Design - MANN Filter
by LeoStrop - 08/23/19 10:25 AM
Newest Members
goldenjava, Spuzzum, ta249, bobsauto62, Ramz
69044 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
89 registered members (80Boxcar, 4WD, 54steve, ABerns, 14 invisible), 2,020 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics293,703
Posts5,045,255
Members69,044
Most Online3,532
Jul 30th, 2019
Donate to BITOG
Print Thread
Hop To
TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander #5168271 07/22/19 04:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
I bough 4-2019 Camry wheels which had 235/45R18 94V. I will put a 245/60R18 snow tires on it to use on a 2012 Highland Limited. The Camry wheels do not have TPMS so I'm looking to buy some from Ebay. There are so many options out there. Help me out if you had done this before. Do I get used Highlander, new aftermarket, used Camry TPMS........


12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168289 07/22/19 04:57 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,085
G
Gebo Offline
Offline
G
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,085
Either get OEM Toyota or Denso. I finally purchased the Denso's.

I have done this and wasted money trying to save money. You could talk with your tire guy as they would know what works for your car. The last thing they want
is for you to keep coming back with that darn tire light on and them having to reset everything.

Where I buy my tires you have to get their approval of what they will install before you bring just any old brand in. They used Denso's in Toyotas.


'98 LEX LS400 295K
'02 4Runner 235K
'05 Lex LS430 85K
'07 Lex GX470 65K

SuperTech Oil
Toyota ATF's and Coolant
Amsoil Gear Oil and Grease
(Subject to Change as the Wind Blows)
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168334 07/22/19 05:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,694
N
NormanBuntz Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,694
I recently purchased two complete sets of tires from a Discount Tire store in VA. They only charged $60 per TPMS sensor. That's installed, programmed and warrantied for six years. The brand they used was Dill. No problems at all in the Ridgeline and M35.


2013 Honda Accord LX, 61K, 2nd owner
2007 Honda Ridgeline RTS, 91K, 1st owner
2007 Infiniti M35, 113K, 1st owner
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168372 07/22/19 06:48 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,260
T
Traction Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,260
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool. That's one thing Chrysler beat them at years ago with a self learning system, which should have been a requirement by all manufacturers. The TPMS law would have been a great idea if they had made it a simple system for ALL vehicles, with real time pressure readouts easily displayed, and programmed with a magnet like Chevy did clear back in 1997 on the Corvette. The newer vehicle using wheel speed to check for a low tire isn't bad either, since no sensor is even used. But, by the time you notice the light, that most people don't even know what it means, they have already crashed anyway.

Last edited by Traction; 07/22/19 07:13 PM.

Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168389 07/22/19 07:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,610
S
slacktide_bitog Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 8,610
ITM Uni-Sensor

Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168434 07/22/19 08:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,775
S
Snagglefoot Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,775
I’ve had good luck with aftermarket from Amazon for my Chev Suburban. My tire shop was able to program them and I programmed a set on my winter tires manually. The info was on you tube.


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168438 07/22/19 08:42 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,289
D
dblshock Offline
Offline
D
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,289
disable the system


05 Lexus GX470 167k
640:1 TCW-3
5/30 10/30 5/40 15/40
Michelin Latitude

06 4Runner SR5 150k
640:1 TCW-3
Citgo 10/30 conv XG3614
Falken Wildpeak AT3W
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168476 07/22/19 09:32 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,775
S
Snagglefoot Offline
Offline
S
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,775
Amazon.com

Search Toyota Highlander TPMS


If you want the job done right......do it yourself.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168699 07/23/19 08:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
I like Discount Tires that is close to me to mount my tires. Will check out Amazon and used Toyota ones on ebay.

What tool do you use to disable the system?

Last edited by Tundragod; 07/23/19 08:05 AM.

12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Traction] #5168770 07/23/19 09:48 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 7,684
E
edyvw Offline
Offline
E
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 7,684
Originally Posted by Traction
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool. That's one thing Chrysler beat them at years ago with a self learning system, which should have been a requirement by all manufacturers. The TPMS law would have been a great idea if they had made it a simple system for ALL vehicles, with real time pressure readouts easily displayed, and programmed with a magnet like Chevy did clear back in 1997 on the Corvette. The newer vehicle using wheel speed to check for a low tire isn't bad either, since no sensor is even used. But, by the time you notice the light, that most people don't even know what it means, they have already crashed anyway.

Unbelievably ridiculous.
I had that issue on Sienna. Put all seasons after taking of winter set. Light on. Went to dealership to ask about how does it work (coming from European cars, they automatically pick up signal, so was not aware of this mumbo jumbo). Guy in dealership said: best thing is to take down instrument panel and take out TPMS light smile


15' Toyota Sienna AWD (Mobil1 5W30 EP+OEM filter).
11' VW Tiguan 2.0T (Castrol 0W40+MANN filter)
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168777 07/23/19 09:55 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 14,197
S
supton Online Content
Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 14,197
If you have an old WinXP laptop you can go on ebay and find a copy of Techstream for cheap. [Maybe you're good with computers and can get it to run on Win10, or maybe they finally ripped off a later version, dunno.] I have that and could read the ECU to get the values for the sensors. If you have this program (and it's cheap!) you could change to your heart's content. Just write down the values. Or take photos if you want.

I bought a Dorman to replace a sensor in my all seasons but it didn't seem to take. I was too cheap to put a set into my winter tires and since then I've gotten used to the light always being on, and as such I just haven't been bothered to look at it again. Not required for state inspection so... it gets ignored.

Toyota does have a pretty lame system for TPMS.


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 187k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 153k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 209k, his
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168781 07/23/19 09:57 AM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 14,197
S
supton Online Content
Online Content
S
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 14,197
Originally Posted by Tundragod
What tool do you use to disable the system?

I'm not aware of a way to program it out; you could try hunting around on the model specific forums. I recall someone came up with a hack to disable on my Tundra, involved some diodes and resistors, which seemed overkill to me but I never bothered to read into it too far.

Electrical tape is a tool in some circles...


2011 Toyota Camry, base, 2.5L/6MT, 187k, hers
2010 Toyota Tundra DC, 4.6L/6AT, 153k, ours
1999 Toyota Camry LE, 2.2L/4AT, 209k, his
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Tundragod] #5168805 07/23/19 10:33 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
T
Tundragod Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 222
For my Honda Accord, every Fall and Springs, I switch wheels, wait for the light to come on, then take the car to Discount Tires and they reprogram them (turn the light off) for free since I buy Winter tires from them. For the Highlander, I found this BLIZZAK DM-V2 SNOW TIRES, 245/60/18 - GREAT CONDITION! - $450 (LESS THAN 3K MILES). Since the tires are pretty good deal, I'm going to get it and see if DT can reset the light just as they do on the Honda.


12 Highlander limited, 08 Accord EXL 4, 04 MDX Tour, 02 CRV EX, 1995 Virago.
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: supton] #5168915 07/23/19 01:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,260
T
Traction Offline
Offline
T
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,260
Originally Posted by supton
Originally Posted by Tundragod
What tool do you use to disable the system?

I'm not aware of a way to program it out; you could try hunting around on the model specific forums. I recall someone came up with a hack to disable on my Tundra, involved some diodes and resistors, which seemed overkill to me but I never bothered to read into it too far.

Electrical tape is a tool in some circles...

Disabling the system, or taking out the bulb is a really bad idea, plus it is illegal as all get out. Electrical tape is about the best thing to do if you must.


Certified Tire Service Instructor since 2009
50 Chevy Fire Truck
13 Tahoe Pursuit
97 C5 Corvette
00 BMW M Roadster
02 Camry
12 Camry
81 Camaro
55 Chevy C4
Re: TPMS Sensors for a 2012 Highlander [Re: Traction] #5168942 07/23/19 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,538
N
nthach Offline
Offline
N
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,538
Originally Posted by Traction
For whatever reason, Toyota is one of the worst vehicles for TPMS. Usually the sensor ID must be written down and programmed into the cars computer with a high dollar scan tool.

Yea, you need to get the sensor IDs and program them in with Techstream or a aftermarket scan tool with 2-way communication and Toyota/Lexus software. Toyota's TPMS implementation is half-baked, and if someone tries to press the TPMS SET button in the car with bad sensors or unprogrammed ones, you also lock out the TPMS ECU and it needs to be reset out of a loop: http://www.thetpmsforum.com/showthread.php?3807-Toyota-TPMS-stuck-in-a-loop

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™