VCT rattle

I have a 2019 f150 XLT with the 5.0 . I have the deceleration rattle from the cam phasers when the engine is cold. I run 5-20 Amsoil signature series oil and am concerned about long term durability of this engine. Do I have anything to worry about? My service tech and the dealership owner both say I can run 5-30 and that may help. Does this sound legit? My truck only has 6000 miles on it so I am skeptical to use anything other than what the mfg. calls for at least under warranty. I am no mechanic so would like some help with this if possible. Thanks in advance.

If dealer/tech said you could run 5W30 fine. But. Get it in writing and have it added to the service history of the truck. Get all copies. You don't know down road who you will be dealing with. Maybe get the district rep involved in this too. Bottom line, new truck shouldn't be making noise from cam phasers in the engine.

Yeah we tried that and it doesn't work.. this is why I am concerned as they issued a TSB to fix it and now say it is normal....

We just had one where we did the TSB and it didn't fix it. We replaced the at fault VCTs. Have to pull the valve covers and timing cover. I got to read line-by-line through the FSM to find all the one time use hardware since "the tech can't be bothered to read the FSM."

Amsoil SS is better oil than motocraft and its 5-20 so not worried about that but hesitant to use 5-30 although several people have told me it will be fine, but it seems no one here really knows either. My main concern is the chain rattle and if this is going to do any long term harm to my engine. The truck runs and drives great, getting 21/22 mpg on the road and 19/20 or so mixed so am happy about that.. i am surprised no one else has had this if all the 5.0's are doing it as Ford now says....

The main point here is that you have gone to the dealer and your complaint of the rattle should be on record.