Foam Cannon any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mez

Been looking at buying a foam cannon. Any thoughts good or bad?

I looked at them for a while and even looked at the similar maintenance wash type product that produces less foam. I came to the decision that a bucket of soapy water is just about as easy for DIY car detailing. If I was a pro, I would get the less suds making "foam gun" for car washes and the canon for wax stripping. They're both very cool products, I just realized I wanted them more than I needed them.

I had one and gave it away.

It makes for really cool pictures, but I found it to be more effort. When I typically wash, I need two buckets, some soap, a mitt, and a hose. With the cannon, I needed a bucket, a mitt, the cannon, a pressure washer, some soap, and a hose.

I just use the foam cannon (normal water hose version) to soap up the car (after a strong pre-rinse), the using a microfiber mitt, soap up the mitt as well and wash one section (top to bottom). I then rinse that section with the hose. I use one bucket of rinse water w/grit guard (no soapy wash bucket), wring it out and re-soap it up using the foam cannon for the next soaped up section of the car.

Seems to work fine for me. I like that the foam seems to help penetrate the dirt film and makes cleaning a bit easier to do.

Do you mean the kind from a pressure washer or the kind from a hose?

Pressure washer is too much of a hassle to get out for all but the worst soils, so that kind I'd pass.

I use this kind:

https://gilmour.com/products/nozzles-wands/cleaning-nozzles-wands/foamaster-cleaning-sprayer

But still keep a sudsy bucket.

The benefit here is that you can get more soap on a panel than just a sponge alone. It's also easily severable to a regular sprayer.