Clay bar kit recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 2017 Fusion that is kept outside. I was thinking of using a clay bar kit before waxing it. I've never done it before so I want something easy to use and close to fool proof. Anyone have any recommendations?

Last edited:
The mothers is a great choice. Check out Adams polishes i think they have one now as well. Great products and the owner is really nice

Any clay bar will do, I normally just get whatever is on sale. The purpose of clay bar is to remove all the dirt and grim that can't be washed away. The crucial part is how the clay is applied, not the brand.

Use a small chunk, around the size slightly bigger than a quarter and always fold the "dirty side" inward, so that you have the cleanest possible side touching the paint. Fold as often as you can and keep the surface lubricated, you can use the spray detailer, soap water, or even just plain tab water but that's me.

Don't need to put too much pressure into the paint, remember the purpose of this is to remove the dirt and grim. Once you've dropped the clay on the ground you can toss it and take another piece, trust me you will drop it.

I think the clay bar kits are a rip-off. You generally get a small bar of clay and a spray bottle of juice and maybe a microfiber towel. You really don't need the special clay bar juice. Soapy water works just as well in my experience. My favorite clay bars are Meguiar's C2000 and Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay. Another tip that might help you: wash the vehicle with a bug sponge before you use the clay bar; it will remove stuff like tar and dried bugs without scratching the paint and make the clay step easier.

Last edited:
I've been using Griot's. I bought a tub of their clay years ago and am still using it today.

Clay is clay IMO. I'd just get whatever's cheapest and use a good lube.

Claying is more about the elbow grease than anything else. There's no magic clay out there that'll help with that.