Back of the brake pad: anti-seize or silicone brake lube?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

So I've been using silicone (the same stuff that lubes the calliper slide pin) on back of the brake pad as lubricating for years, never had a problem with it. That's how I was taught from school. After watching a few brake jobs video on youtube, seems like everybody else is using copper anti-seize.

Thoughts?

I've never used the silicone or the copper anti-seize on the back of brake pads There is a product called "Disk Brake Quiet" that comes in an aerosol can, but years ago, when I worked in a shop doing oil changes, there was a mechanic who would use the CRC battery terminal protector spray. Said it was basically the same, worked just as good, etc.

It's been so long, I can't remember the exact reason he used the battery terminal stuff instead, may have been the price, not sure. At any rate, I have a can of it in the garage that I've used many times over the years, and it does work. Never had an issue with it.

I have never put anything besides the shims/spacers comes with the pads.

Only think I lubricate is the ears of the pads and sliders/pins.

I have seen people use the "Disk Brake Quiet" spray before (I think it is blue??), but never needed it.

So AGS claims their Sil-Glyde and Cerami-Glyde products should be applied to the back of brake pads amongst other locations to prevent squeal.
See page 2 of the attached marketing materials for details.

Attachments

• 0 bytes · Views: 69
Silicone is for lubricating the "rubber" components, anti seize for everything else.

I've seen old schoolers who run graphite anti seize on the calipers pins and claim to have no problems.

It's weird because the AS on the back of the pads is there to stop them from getting corroded and stuck. However, the way the disk brake quiet works as I understand it is to help the pads stick to the piston/caliper and eliminate noise.