Blue Devil Flush VS Prestone Flush & Cleaner

Status
Not open for further replies.
Given all of the potential problems you might create (i.e., introducing tap water with minerals that will likely cause corrosion, "cleaning" chemicals that the cooling system was never designed to handle...the list goes on), why do you (or your friend) want to "flush" a cooling system?

Ed

Originally Posted by Ed_Flecko
Given all of the potential problems you might create (i.e., introducing tap water with minerals that will likely cause corrosion, "cleaning" chemicals that the cooling system was never designed to handle...the list goes on), why do you (or your friend) want to "flush" a cooling system?

Ed

Okay, let me be more specific.
I have been doing coolant flushes on vehicles for well over 30 years +. I still used Prestone flushing products back then. On some vehicles I even installed the Prestone flush TEE.
Fast forward to today's times. For the last 20 years or more I have used DISTILLED WATER ONLY to flush and fill, AFTER flushing the chemicals out of the system.
WHY flush the coolant system? He has 181K miles on his 2K Silverado. The last time it was flushed and had new coolant was at 62K miles. Now, how would YOU handle this? IMHO, a flush would be the BEST solution in this case.
Oh, BTW, you might ask, with my exp. doing flushes, why ask? Because, I have NEVER used either one of the aforementioned products. I wanted to know which is better, or used more.

Originally Posted by lewdwig
Did a Prestone Super Flush on my daughter's Subaru...I learned how to replace the radiator and heater core...YMMV.