Road Trip to Central America

Status
Not open for further replies.
"Nice safe. Call me paranoid but what's to say..."

That's crossed my mind, too.

I'm also considering a security system which I forgot to mention, and surprised no one else has mentioned it

I have no experience traveling like you are planning, but I enjoy reading these types of adventures. This may not be relevant, but one thought that comes to mind is the availability of your tire size. If your tires are not a common size in Mexico/Central America, you may have more grief and downtime if you need to replace a tire. If that could be the case, a spare tire or two may be beneficial.

The best defense and help you have is knowing the local language. You've got this.

The second best is looking poor. You will look like the Monopoly Man no matter what you do, but those hitch locks etc will attract the wrong kind of attention.

Your focusing on what brand of oil and when you're going to change it is micro-managing inside a bigger picture. I have concerns you need to fill out the corners of this picture. Your oil is not going to fail you, unless you run out of it or get water into it.

South America is more civilized than the Congo, but this is a good read:

https://www.expeditionportal.com/fo...c-of-congo-lubumbashi-to-kinshasa.50799/

Originally Posted by eljefino

Your focusing on what brand of oil and when you're going to change it is micro-managing inside a bigger picture. I have concerns you need to fill out the corners of this picture. Your oil is not going to fail you, unless you run out of it or get water into it.