Not open for further replies.

gathermewool

Site Donor 2023
Model: 921050
Ariens Platinum SHO 24
Time: ~5 hrs

The oil was just changed.

I'm looking for recommendations on three of the listed maintenance items:

1. Ariens high-temp grease: specs show NLGI #2 grease --> looking for alternative

1.a. Recommendations for grease gun. I'm new to home-ownership and don't have a grease-gun.

2. General Lubrication: what is this???
-----the manual shows these points as being the chain drive and outer auger shaft.

3. L3 Synthetic Severe Duty Gear Lube: this is for the gear-case

Thanks, guys

Note, I have chain oil that I use for my bicycles. I'll have check out what's in it again.

I also have 3-in-1

No reco on your questions, however, what you have could be my next blower.

How do you like it?
Why didn't you go EFI.
How does it steer and turn?
How does the chute control work - too touchy or OK?
Is the engine too powerful if that is a thing lol.
Is it too fast in 1st gear?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by gathermewool

The oil was just changed.
I'm looking for recommendations on three of the listed maintenance items:
1. Ariens high-temp grease: specs show NLGI #2 grease --> looking for alternative
1.a. Recommendations for grease gun. I'm new to home-ownership and don't have a grease-gun.
2. General Lubrication: what is this???
-----the manual shows these points as being the chain drive and outer auger shaft.
3. L3 Synthetic Severe Duty Gear Lube: this is for the gear-case
Thanks, guys

1) Tractor supply Co. sells "00" grease in 1 quart bottles
2) Most all chinesium grease guns work to some extent, but the Lincoln is well worth the $35 they charge for it
3) Any used motor oil in a jug sitting around works great for "general lubrication"
4) Pretty much any good quality gear Lube (usually) will do. You PROBABLY will never need to service this!