Engagement/Wedding Rings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by xBa380
I can't fathom spending so much money on a rock. Thankfully, my girlfriend feels the same exact way! Been together for over 16 years now.

We'd rather use money for a trip or other life experience. Such as our trip to Germany in a few weeks. Much better use of the same amount of money as a ring!

Yup, my wife and I are like that too. She even jokingly threatened me if I ever spent huge money on a ring. She has my mother's ring and I have her father's band. We don't wear them (I'm a mechanic and rings don't mix well with that vocation) but have been together for 23 years now. We don't celebrate holidays but instead treat every day like one. And also like you we would rather skip the gifts and travel together instead. Personally I feel that too much emphasis is placed on buying trinkets, junk or other stuff that is rarely truly appreciated, used and/or remembered for more than a few days or weeks. Imo a vacation or short trip is far better than a trinket.

Originally Posted by thooks
Get up early one morning and drive down to Atlanta.

Solomon Brothers

Negotiate.

Bam.

I actually have family in Atlanta I should go see.

I'm not opposed to the idea, but why that particular store?

I couldn't negotiate a good deal here in Nashville?

Originally Posted by The_Eric
I can't fathom spending so much money on a rock. Thankfully, my girlfriend feels the same exact way! Been together for over 16 years now.

We'd rather use money for a trip or other life experience. Such as our trip to Germany in a few weeks. Much better use of the same amount of money as a ring!