Paccar mx 13

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this whole oil analysis stuff so i was hoping i could get some opinions on my report. Also i was wondering if i could lengthen my oil change interval? I appreciate the help

Attachments

• 0 bytes · Views: 124
Tell me if I'm reading this right - 40846km (~25000 miles) on the OCI? Looks like pretty low wear numbers. Jury's out on extending until some analysis experts come along.

Something is not right. If there are really 25,000 miles on the oil, then the FE wear numbers are not right. To low.

I would not go above 10,000 to 12,000 mile OCI without getting a TBN. TBN is critical to extending an oil change interval..

OTR truck with a huge sump and running multiple filters may well have a 25,000 OCI.

Show off!!!
thumbsup2.gif

With regard to oil analyses, the Paccar MX13 is the lowest wearing heavy duty engine I've ever seen. I've seen several UOAs for that engine and this report is pretty typical. Extraordinarily low wear metals is nice, but the silicon is very good and there's no signs of antifreeze intrusion, either. Soot says 0, my reports run less than 1%, too, but I guess yours is most impressive. I'm not sure what your engine has for filtration, but those are great results.

I don't know what oil you're running and it doesn't matter. I no longer give much of a hoot about TBN and TAN, so I'm not concerned about the lack of it here on this report. All I can say is, feel free to add some miles (KMs in your case) and check again. It depends on your comfort level. Keep track of the oil on the dipstick, watch the coolant level closely, keep track of the air intake plumbing and barring any problems, you could most likely double the interval with ease. That's all up to you and how far you want to take it.