Self Propelled Mowers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by dakota99
I have a Honda HRX217 and it's honestly the best mower i've ever owned. The twin blades and nexite deck are definitely worth spending money on. It mulches perfectly but what I really love is the fact that the underside of the deck is totally clean after mowing, even wet grass.

I'll second the HRX217. I bought a HRX217HYA to replace a Honda self-propelled that was handed down to me from my parents. It lasted 25 years before it finally lost compression. I'm confident that if I change the oil and the air filter every season that this mower will also run for 25 years.

I like front wheel drive as at the end of your pass, you tilt up the front wheels off the ground (just slightly), flip it 180 degrees and do the next pass. Or thats what I do. I liked my Ariens 22" with Kohler Courage engine until I got my Toro Timemaster. Now there is no comparison in the machines. Of course The Toro Timemaster (30") is over $1000.

My Toro Personal Pace rear wheel drive has been a great mower for 11 years now. My son mows ours and 3 of the neighbors lawns with it and it's held up awesome with just basic maintenance. It has the Briggs engine

I finally got into the self propelled game this year after many years of "I'm not paying for extras." Helps that I've been buying 'junk' mowers around the neighborhood.

1st mower over the winter was a Honda HRR216 with the thumb paddle control. Wasn't a fan of the controls, altho 2 cutting blades was nice. Sold it for a profit and picked up an older Toro 20332 with the Briggs. I'm now sold on the Personal Pace system. Just easier and more "normal" to use. Only downfall with the 20332 is the plastic drive gears in the wheels, but they are easily remedied or upgradable to metal gears.