Any easy way to cook plantains?

Status
Not open for further replies.
No frying. Does baking or boiling give good results? I turn to this for my occasional craving but wonder if making it myself fresh is an option.

[Linked Image]

I have no experience with this product, only with the whole plantains. Unless these are very inexpensive I don't see why you would buy it instead, plantains are very inexpensive if you live along a trade route that regularly deals with them, like about as cheap as bananas depending on region since they are not as popular in the US as bananas.

Anyway you can cook them just about any way you like. Like any other food, boiling tends to give the worst texture, I would sooner steam them if all you have is a pot of water. Microwave works about the same, cover them to trap the steam and cook on half power for twice as long as directed.

Baking/roasting or toaster oven gives better texture but be sure you oil the pan or do them on lower temperature with a non-stick pan. That's with fresh plantains, since these are already fried maybe no oil is needed to keep them from sticking. Although those pictured must have ripened so they are sweet, they have too high a water content to get much carmelizing going on with the sugar in them but you can get some if the temperature is high enough, and yet since they are already fried I wouldn't want to cook much above 420F as that's just below where many oils start to oxidize and turn carcinogenic.

I wonder why not fried since they are already fried (stated on box) so you may not be able to get any more oil into them which would make it little if any less healthy than other methods but again I would just get the whole fresh plantains instead.

Also if you get them fresh, if you cook before they are ripe they are more of a general starch you can use like potatoes, have not turned nearly as sweet yet.