Questions About Oiling Air Tools And Air Tool Repair

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. I am not a professional mechanic. I am just the do it yourself guy. I was recently given three air tools. One vintage Ingersall Rand 1/2 impact, one Allied Pneumatics 1/2 inch impact (label says Made In Japan), and finally a 1/2 inch Blue Point air ratchet. Do I simply use any off the shelf air tool oil in these? Now to my repair question. When the Blue Point air ratchet is plugged in to air it just runs wide open. The valve seems to be stuck down thus the lever just flops around. Can I fix this free tool and if so, how?

Yes, off the shelf air tool oil. Don't over think this.

As for the repair, either a bad trigger spring or gunk/grime/corrosion in the actuating mechanism...

Trav i've never seen that stuff yet. I have a whole bunch of die grinders on a rack so I don't have to change bits all the time. Occasionally one of them will loose torque and when they do that they get I couple rounds of kroil dousche. Then I just use marvel. I'll have to try a can of that.

A lot of Air Ratchets take grease in the ratchet head, Commonly overlooked!! You will need a "Grease Needle".

Blue Point air ratchets are junk.....I wouldn't waste any time or money on one. Water is the #1 & #2 killer of air tools.

Originally Posted by Chris142
They used to recommend auto trans fluid. I bought my IR 231 around 1988. I oil it every day I use it. Its never been opened up!

I can wear out/break an IR231 in a couple years.......Fantastic Impact!!!!!

I am not trying to be wimp but blowing out micro-droplets of petroleum distillate for inhalation is not my cup of tea.
I rather vap instead or use food grade air tool oil.

Processor A Port-Validity speed Port- Validity direction Processor A Starboard-Validity speed Starboard- Validity direction

Originally Posted by clinebarger
Originally Posted by Chris142