the cummins 10,000 mile oil change interval

Status
Not open for further replies.
I noticed a lot of guys with a cummins turbo diesel frequently run 10,000 miles between oil changes. I know the cummins turbo diesel is easy on oil, but isn't that a lot? I guess if you run down the highway all the time it's fine, but if I did that my truck would have like 600hrs on it before I reached that mileage.

10,000 miles isn't really that wild of an OCI, especially on a diesel.

Do a UOA and find out. If you're able to extend your interval, with as much oil as that truck takes it will easily pay for itself.

I'm a semi mechanic at UPS. The yard shifter trucks that move semi trailers around the lot at sort facilities have a Cummins 6.7 in them. It is a lower output version of whats in the Ram truck. The engines hold up for 25K hours with 500 hour PM's. A word of advice, don't let modern diesels sit and idle like diesels of yesteryear. Modern diesels put a heavier burden on the emissions system when idling.

Originally Posted by skyactiv
I'm a semi mechanic at UPS. The yard shifter trucks that move semi trailers around the lot at sort facilities have a Cummins 6.7 in them. It is a lower output version of whats in the Ram truck. The engines hold up for 25K hours with 500 hour PM's. A word of advice, don't let modern diesels sit and idle like diesels of yesteryear. Modern diesels put a heavier burden on the emissions system when idling.

Do they still have the 3 gallon sump or is it bigger?

I cant comment on the first gen 6.7's, that used just EGR and DPF but the 2013+ with SCR seem to do quite well. It is still the 11-12 litre sump. Ram now says for 24,000km/15k mile changes.

I am just starting UOA on my ISB6.7. My first test was 48,000km on the truck, 24k on the oil. I changed the FF out at 24k so there was remnants of it in the sample. My wear metals were high, as they should be but I was more interested to see how the oil held up. It did fine.