Only in California - minivan fuel hauling

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by vw7674
Originally Posted by slacktide_bitog
How much can you carry before it requires a placard?

max load weight for a minivan is around 1450-1600lbs,
he's over gross by 1/4 ton easy.

WHAT minivan has that load weight?

I'm a semi mechanic and was told by instructor that diesel is harder to put out than a gas fire. Looking back how much other dumb crap he told the class, I should have known better.

Originally Posted by skyactiv
I'm a semi mechanic and was told by instructor that diesel is harder to put out than a gas fire. Looking back how much other dumb crap he told the class, I should have known better.

Diesel is hard to put out if you use water. I learned that from spending a week at Navy Firefighting training on Treasure Island in the Bay Area. Multi level concrete bunkers were filled with diesel and set ablaze. The setup was to mimic a shipboard fire complete with metal grate decking. After trying with water then we used foam. Big difference.

I'm guessing they don't do that anymore because of the pollution.

Lots of military bases have bad pollution problems because that foam contaminated the ground water.... not to mention all the jet fuel and industrial degreasers seeping into the ground.

Originally Posted by edyvw

Dodge Caravan is around 1,500lb payload. Sienna appears to come up at 1,200 to 1,500. Odyssey at 1,400 to 1,600.

Originally Posted by Mr Nice
Lots of military bases have bad pollution problems because that foam contaminated the ground water.... not to mention all the jet fuel and industrial degreasers seeping into the ground.

I live near Fairchild AFB (Spokane, Wa.) and there are numerous domestic wells contaminated by exactly what you are talking about. Endless lawsuits too. Been going on for as long as I can remember.

How about this. I wonder how far he would have made it before the fumes knocked him out....or exploded.
sleep.gif