2013 Mazda 3 Mobil 1 AFE 0w20 6700Mi

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thought I'd share this UOA from last year. Opinions welcomed, I'm still new to all the numbers and different materials.

This is the 2.0L Skyactiv motor.

[Linked Image]

The silicon number not being over about ~25 ppm means the air filter path is sealed up and not allowing silica dust into the engine, so that's good news to know. All the numbers look decent really.

Iron is only a touch higher than it should be. Try using a Fram Ultra oil filter for better filtration, the best filter around to catch more, so it might help some. The Fram.com website says you have to be careful which oil filter you get since they changed the oil filter thread size in the middle of the model year.
https://www.fram.com/parts-search/?...BkAWAAlwDp8mymBLMAAsALmwAi6EQE8yAKhABdIA

Then I'd recommend M1 AFE 0w30 from now on (another walmart item like the fram ultra oil filter). That's 10% more HTHS viscosity for these slightly older engines and it could lower the wear numbers.
Your ending viscosity wasn't excessively low, meaning you could stick with 0w20 for a while and change to slightly thicker in later miles. I would go ahead and start using 0w30 now if it was me.

Originally Posted by oil_film_movies
The silicon number not being over about ~25 ppm means the air filter path is sealed up and not allowing silica dust into the engine, so that's good news to know. All the numbers look decent really.

Iron is only a touch higher than it should be. Try using a Fram Ultra oil filter for better filtration, the best filter around to catch more, so it might help some. The Fram.com website says you have to be careful which oil filter you get since they changed the oil filter thread size in the middle of the model year.
https://www.fram.com/parts-search/?...BkAWAAlwDp8mymBLMAAsALmwAi6EQE8yAKhABdIA