CPAP wearer discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by Reddy45
Originally Posted by blupupher
Originally Posted by ZZman
ZZMan, same here, I have been using one since 2005, still on original machine. I have adjusted the pressure myself over the years (higher as I gained weight, .

I thought it takes a computer to change the pressure? I would love mine bumped up a little. I'm too cheap to want to go through another sleep study though.

What machine do you have? Some you can do yourself, others you need their software.
The Resmed S8 can be done pretty easily.

Just google "adjust pressure on xxxx" and you should get several results.
It is not something you want to just mess with though unless you know a little about what your doing.
As a nurse that works with ventilators and CPAP in emergent situations, I have a decent understanding of it, but it really is not super complicated.

What are your thoughts on the idea that CPAPs are overprescribed nowadays? In other words it seems like.. if you get a sleep study.. you WILL get a cpap prescription. It doesn't matter if you are perfectly healthy or if you could simply drop a few lbs.. the docs and clinics seem to have a perverse incentive to sell these devices.

Unfortunately you're correct.

I have a five year old Resmed S9 with almost 10000 hours on it.

Runs good, waiting for insurance to pay for a new one.

I only wear it if I clean it with hot water and plain handsoap and let it dry.

Otherwise the smell of spit is too gross to wear two nights in a row.

I have one. A Resmed or whatever its called. Auto adjusting, blah, blah, blah. Had it for 1.5 years. Its a PIA, but I sleep better and feel better with it. During my sleep study I had 61 events per 60 mins. And my oxy levels were very dangerously low.

My wife says I sleep like a baby with it on. Before I got it, she said she was pretty concerned that I wouldnt wake myself up to breathe sooner or later. And she's a PA in a hospital ER.