Battery smoking hot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just bought this car with probably the original battery from 2011. It was dead so I connected a jump box to it and left it on for the 30 mile drive home. After getting home I see vapor coming out of the vents and the case is too hot to even touch. Why did it get so hot?

I'm not an expert, but, I believe a "jump box" is meant to supply enough power to start the car and then be disconnected. Once the car is started the alternator is charging the battery. Leaving the jump box connected would overcharge the battery, hence the overheating. Don't leave the jump box connected once the car starts. A jump box is not meant to be a battery charger.

I'm thinking maybe a shorted cell in the battery and it's absorbing lots of charging current from the alternator as a result.

Originally Posted by Donald
Why did you leave the jump box connected while driving home?

The last time this happened on another car with a dead battery apparently the alternator didn't charge when the battery was so low. Kept it on just in case.

Originally Posted by Dinoburner
I have seen shorted batteries do this. What condition was the jump box in when you shut it off?

Jump box seems fine,

A) If you want to continue to use that battery make sure to top off the cells with distilled water after it cools down. Sounds like you boiled off a lot of fluid.
B) There should be a sticker on the battery somewhere that shows how old it is. If it's more the 4 years old and you are having problems with it, just replace it.
C) Although the alternator could be bad and not charging the battery, I would first suspect the old battery is failing. To be sure, I believe most major auto parts stores will test both the alternator and battery for you for free.

Originally Posted by slug_bug
A) If you want to continue to use that battery make sure to top off the cells with distilled water after it cools down. Sounds like you boiled off a lot of fluid.