What is the best way to get rid of a squirrel?

Originally Posted by Lolvoguy

Use a silencer on your gun.
I've seen it in the movies, works like a charm and it won't even awaken a sleeping baby!

Maybe you should price suppressors ($350 minimum) then rethink your reply. You also need to register a suppressor with the feds ($200) if it's even legal in your state to own one.

Set up a few wire snares placed on the holes. Use a rat trap nailed to the hole area but left open enough so they still attempt to get in.

Squirrels are smart. I was trapping and relocating them. They came back! I started painting their tales different colors. Took one 5 miles away and he came back in 3 days!

A standard pellet or BB gun won't kill them with a humane shot. Good luck shooting one with a .22 as they are real fast!

I shot at 6 with a shotgun from about 15 yards and the birdshot missed every one.

Originally Posted by Chris142
Squirrels are smart. I was trapping and relocating them. They came back! I started painting their tales different colors. Took one 5 miles away and he came back in 3 days!

A standard pellet or BB gun won't kill them with a humane shot. Good luck shooting one with a .22 as they are real fast!

I shot at 6 with a shotgun from about 15 yards and the birdshot missed every one.

I've killed way more squirrels than I care to admit to using both a .177 pellet gun or .22lr. A properly placed pellet gun shot takes them down pretty fast. I also took one a couple of years ago with #8 from my 500 at about 10 yards and it was like you dropped a cinder block on it, it ended up about 1/4" thick, was really wild. I've also taken one with the .308, though that was a tad excessive.

Originally Posted by wtd