Public opinion of this Lyft ride, and my reaction.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright all, I'd like an honest opinion. It's been a week, and this event is still on my mind which is unusual for me.

I'll keep it short and sweet. I got a Lyft ride last Saturday to go meet some friends. The car was a DISASTER. He pulled up with the driver's headlight out, turn signals that hyperflashed, and the worst part was a HORRIFIC driveline vibration at speed. As some know from my posts, I'm a mechanic for a living. This thing either had a carrier bearing about to explode or a u-joint that was shredding with every revolution.

Once I safely reached my destination, which was about 13 miles, I immediately contacted Lyft telling them that 1. This driver can NOT be driving people around and 2. I'd like a refund of my fare due to my dissatisfaction. It was about a $32 fare.

I received a quick, but curt response. Basically, we've taken appropriate action against the driver, we won't pair you with him again, etc. However, because I "completed" the ride, no refund was due. Basically they gave me the internet meme "BUT DID YOU DIE?"

There was a little back and forth, I pleaded my case, and dropped it. I only wish I had paid with a credit card, I would request a chargeback instantly but alas, it was my debit card. Not much I can do.

So, am I crazy for wanting a slight service gesture and $32 back? I won't be using Lyft again, regardless. Yes, I know this can happen with ANY ride sharing app, but the Uber customer service, in my opinion, is much better.

Yeah, the burger might have been lousy but you ate the whole thing. They probably get a thousand of emails like this a day.

Sorry. Agree with Lyft on this one. You arrived at your destination. I have a 2018 Silverado-I guarantee you would also hear drive-line noises as well. IT's a great truck but it has a fair amount of "drive line slap".

I have used both services. Each time the driver was pleasant and the car was clean.