Power Steering Fluid - 07 Tahoe

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am getting ready to pump out the reservoir and replace on my 07 Tahoe. When I check Advance Auto it only brings up Prestone, Other than the GM fluid are those the only two that are usable?

Thanks
Tim

I just checked Advance, and for the moment when the site worked, it also showed Valvoline, Valvoline Maxlife with stopleak, and Carquest PS fluids.

Any power steering fluid that lists GM approval should work. Synthetic is hard to find on the shelf, but I have used the GM cold-climate fluid before.

I have had very good luck with Reline PSF. It is expensive, but I don't use much PSF so I don't mind. It solved a cold PS issue on my Roadmaster, that was probably 8-9 years ago and now with 235k miles on it, it has not been an issue since.

Currently I have been running Amsoil multi ATF in my Tb since the fall of 2012 if I recall. It really runs great. The cold weather whine is nearly gone around that -30C mark. I am not an Amsoil koolaid drinker, I think they have great products but I am not fond of their pricing and availability.

I have never bought any specific PS fluid either. I only run good quality ATF. The Amsoil was a gift and I currently am running Co-op ATF SL (Canadian made group 4 multi vehicle) in my 3500 and the previous Ram 1500. Its 9$ a liter all in and does wonders in the winter.

ATF has never caused me any pump/rack issues what so ever and I will continue to use it and advocate its use.

Originally Posted by Recalculating
I've been using Mobil 1 Full Synthetic ATF for years in all my GM vehicles.

This. My 2008 Avalanche had a persistent power steering whine and sluggish steering when it dropped below -20 last winter. Even GM cold weather PSF wouldn't solve it. On the advice of a technician at the local GM dealer, I replaced the PSF with Dexron VI and I've had no problems since.