Do it myself oil changes on an older car

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, nice to be on this forum. I've read quite a bit of the posts and I enjoyed the various topics - even though I'm a total novice at repairs/maintenance. I have basically not done any maintenance on my car since I've bought it but I want to learn.

My car is almost 11 years old now and has almost 250,000 miles. I've taken it to the dealership for all the routine and other maintenance needs. Other than the high prices for repairs, the dealerships have been good (Mazda). But now I'm wondering if I can do some of the things myself. I want to start small and then move on from there. I need tools too
smile.gif

The car is a Mazda 3, by the way. I really like it and want to keep it for a while. It is running well.

So, I'm wondering if it is worth it to now do some of the maintenance (especially oil changes) myself or continue doing what I'm doing? I mean, apparently taking it to the dealer has worked this long. But then again, I do have that itch to do the stuff myself.

I'm just kind of hesitant of screwing up a fine running car. This car has a splash shield that I've heard can be annoying to take off and some of the jacking positions are a bit obscure. But that's about it. I'm sure I can figure it out if I go at it slow.

I'd appreciate any advice. Thanks and nice to be here.

First off -
welcome2.gif
!

Now that that's out of the way..