2016 Civic 2.0. Strange driving habits. Which oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I drive in a lot and in an unusual manner. I work in sales, so I drive 30k+ miles per year.

I also idle often and a lot, as I work out of my car between sales calls (typing notes, emails, etc). Likely 2+ hours of idiling and 100-200 miles driven per day, lots of starts and stops, engine on, engine off.

I'm hoping to do a 7,500 OIC. Thinking of going with the Fram Ultra XG7317, even though it feels wrong to use Fram (last time i was active on here they weren't grate).

I am St. Louis and summers are hot. I'm not opposed to moving away from 0w-20.

Is it turbo direct inject? If so, change 5K. Moving up to 5w30 is a good idea too, for it helps alleviate fuel dilution.
Otherwise, the 7.5K run sounds like a plan..... except do ditch the 0W20 for 5w30.
I am a thickie, in regards to having vehicles that arrive new with 0W20.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by dblshock
I run 0W40 in my Civic without penalty.

Any reason as to why for the 0w-40 and is yours the Turbo?

Last edited:
Originally Posted by ammolab
The Fram Ultra is excellent and a good 5W-30 or 0W-30 Synthetic would be my choice.

Any reasons why you reccomend the 30 over the comparable 20 weights?

turbo is a diluter, engine is a riot in the Civic but a diluter....having said that I'd still use it in the 2.0 especially if your beating on it now & then...it's a good oil.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Triple_Se7en
Is it turbo direct inject? If so, change 5K. Moving up to 5w30 is a good idea too, for it helps alleviate fuel dilution.
Otherwise, the 7.5K run sounds like a plan..... except do ditch the 0W20 for 5w30.

Terrible advice. Changing more oil more often in a GDI / TGDI engine is literally one of the worse things you can to do an engine. Honda has an oil life monitor/maintenance reminder, a great idea to use it for the proper interval.

Originally Posted by DuckRyder