Anyone purchased Nissan NS-3 CVT fluid lately?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JTK

Just curious what it cost you. I know my dealer parts counter price is $20/quart.

I just picked up a case off eBay for $147 all in. $12.25/qt is marginally less painful. $10-12/qt is about what I've been paying by mail order since 2017 for this magical blue juice.

I've done 3 drain/fills so far on our 2016 Nissan Quest CVT since we bought it with ~30K miles on it. It's got ~75K now. If anything, that sucker shouldn't grenade due to lack of CVT fluid changes.

If I keep the van beyond ~110K miles (ext. warranty expires), it will get "suitable for use" CVT fluid for sure. If I could find a cheaper "suitable" blue fluid, that's what I would be using now.

Sorry, no real help with NS3, but NS2. I found a MDSD online for the Nissan NS-2 fluid and it showed that it's made by SOPUS. So I sourced my 6 litres of Pennzoil Platinum CVT-2 from my local industrial oil distributor, far less cost than going to Nissan Dealer or even buying Nissan brand bottles.

I don't see that Pennzoil is offering a NS3 equivalent as of today, but it's too soon for many people to need it in large amounts, so it might be very hard to find outside of the Nissan dealers.

I too can only comment on NS-2. I went with the Castrol version, which was $5 to $6 per quart.

I imagine the CVT fluid doesn't need the frequency of changes that 4 or 5-speed transmissions need. There is very little material shed from clutches and gears. I changed at 80K (Nissan Murano bought used). The fluid and magnet looked pretty good.

Originally Posted by Kestas
I imagine the CVT fluid doesn't need the frequency of changes that 4 or 5-speed transmissions need. There is very little material shed from clutches and gears. I changed at 80K (Nissan Murano bought used). The fluid and magnet looked pretty good.