Synthetic DOT 3 or 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any recommendations -brand names? I need to do a brake fluid change on my 2014 Toyota.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by BlakeB
I've been using Valvoline DOT3 & 4 synthetic. It's cheap and readily available here.

+1

Check the cap on your master cylinder and/or the owners manual. Chances are your car only requires a DOT3. Some newer cars do call for DOT4.
You can use DOT4 if your car calls for DOT3 so no issue there.

Valvoline brake fluid as said meets DOT3/4 spec so that is a safe one to use if you do not know.

Not necessarily a recommendation for any particular brand, but all brake fluid is "synthetic". Silicone (DOT 5) obviously is. DOT 3/4/5.1 are glycol ethers. Some sellers have decided to label their brake fluid "synthetic" but it's really pointless to do so.

I'd like to also add that all brake fluid is synthetic and has been almost forever. I mean, I've been working on cars since ~1970 and it was synthetic then. The fact that some manufacturers of brake fluid have been putting the word "SYNTHETIC" on their bottles, leads those who don't know, to buy their(which does say SYN) product instead of the le$$ expensive brand(that doesn't say SYN) right next to it on the store shelves. Both meeting the same spec and boiling/wet boiling point with DOT3 & DOT4 having their own boiling point specs. And while I'm not sure, I think that DOT 4 has higher boiling point(s) but, may in fact absorb moisture more quickly.

Last edited:
Originally Posted by Char Baby
Both meeting the same spec and boiling/wet boiling point with DOT3 & DOT4 having their own boiling point specs. And while I'm not sure, I think that DOT 4 has higher boiling point(s) but, may in fact absorb moisture more quickly.

Dot 4 does have a higher boiling point if not water saturated, but what I've heard is the old formulation is no longer used, so new DOT4 (or DOT3/4) lasts as long as DOT 3.