06 Dodge Stratus 2.4l dohc, aftermarket oil pressure gauge?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would like to have an oil pressure guage on my car. I suppose my car doesn't matter and what matters really is any motor that doesn't have an oil pressure guage, but rather an oil pressure sending unit.

Has anyone installed an aftermarket oil pressure guage on their motor when that motor only has an oil sending unit?

If you have or you know how, would you mind helping me out with the process of installing an aftermarket oil pressure guage, please?

Thank you,
J

The reason most cars don't have them is because people were bringing theirs cars in for warranty service when they thought the pressure was too low but it actually was normal.

You just T in. What kind of gauge do you want to use a mechanical (meaning you run a oil line to the gauge or an electric which only requires a wire?

I'm not a mechanic, nor an electrician. Which is best, electric with wires or mech with line? Which is easier to do? Which is more reliable, or are they the same?

How/where to T it in? Run an oil line from where to where

If using electric, where do the wires go?

Please be patient with me. Thank you

Last edited:
I had one on the Santa Fe. It had an electric sending unit (wired type). I took off the low oil pressure switch that turns on the low oil light, and I put in a section of threaded pipe with a "T" to split the feed for the pressure switch and for a fitting for my oil pressure gauge sending unit.

I ran the wires inside the cabin. Wired the ground to a ground, wired the internal light to the head light switch so it would light up at night, and then the power wire to a vehicle accessory wire that is only on when the key is on, and then the final wire to the sending unit.