What oil would you recommend for 2014 Sienna

I recently purchased a 2014 Sienna and did my first oil change, I went with Mobil1 EP 0w-20 oil and a Fram Ultra filter and to me it seems the engine is louder with this oil. I have no idea what oil was in before this.

I am fairly new to Toyota, I had a few Dodge's and Honda's in the past but not much experience with Toyota. Is there an oil brand and weight that would work better for my van? Maybe someone has had some experience with this vehicle and different oils?

One of the guys on here with a 15' Sienna uses M1 5w30 EP along with an oem filter. I'd run this at least 5k miles/6 months minimum before dumping. And up to 10k/ 1 year.

Another option is Castrol Magnatec 5w30 which is known to run quiet from many reports on here.

We've used mostly M1 5w30 in the 2010 Sienna (probably about 150k of the 185k it's been driven). This has the same 2GR-FE as your Sienna.
It gets changed anywhere between 5k to 10k, depending on convenience and usage.

The van runs smoothly and, fortunately, uses an imperceptible amount of oil, essentially none at all (perhaps .5 oz per thousand miles).

I wouldn't sweat it too much!

The Sienna still specs dino or syn 5w30 at 5k intervals, so I use syn and don't sweat the interval as long as it's between 5-10k.
The Camry specs 0w20 at 10k intervals, so I plan to follow that (just got the car last spring so have just done one oil change).

This was a transition period for Toyota, from 5w30 @5k to 0w20 @ 10k.

Might be the Ultra. I can't use it on my GM 6.0. Too much startup rattle. My GF's dad has a 2012. Its a noisy engine. Dealer oil. Water pump was bad, its a little quieter after repair. I think you should wait and see what happens long term after switching oils. Try a Fram TG instead of the Ultra. I bet the engine quiets down over time.

Originally Posted by diyjake