is expensive soap really worth it ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
i have been using turtle wax in my foam cannon . its diluted 2 oz to 32oz water. makes ok suds. i get it at walmart for about $5 a gallon. i have never tried any of the fancy soap in my cannon as they seem expensive for soap. $20 to $40 for a gallon is seems to be the going rate for these soaps.

So am i missing anything by not using these fancy soaps? i am not a pro detailer, but i do try to take care of my vehicles

I don't know this for a fact but, I think the other soaps that are actually designed for the Cannon have better dirt lifting factors(if I said that right). However, if you are happy with the results you're getting then stay with the soap that you are using. And you may not be missing a thing.
smile.gif

Meguiars Hyper Wash works great in a foam cannon and the cost per use is peanuts.

Or are they designed for the folks who assume that if they don't use the most expensive product it means they really do not care about their prized auto?

Originally Posted by The Critic
Meguiars Hyper Wash works great in a foam cannon and the cost per use is peanuts.

Beat me to it! I bought a brand new gallon the beginning of last year and still have over half of it. The initial cost might seem steep, but only having to use an ounce or so per 5 gallons the savings add up.

If it only snows where you live once every three or four years, yes it is reasonable to believe that cleaning the car completely after driving in snow is something that can and should be done.

It is a much different thing if where you live it snows three or four times in a single week.

Meguiars gold class from Walmart is a long time favorite on the car detailing forums. Nice and slippery to reduce the need to scrub hard and make scratches.