Pics, ONE oil change in 45K miles (2015 Kia Optima 2.4)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by Brigadier
Originally Posted by WylieCoyote
A dingbat I graduated with did something similar to her '89 Grand Am. We all stood underneath the car in awe as the tech scraped and scooped out the cold, gelatinous oil with the pan removed.

GM warrantied her engine. 25,000 miles on the factory fill. GM was informed of the facts at the get-go. They didn't send a rep. They didn't argue. They just approved the replacement.

There was a collective "WHA??" on everyones' face in the shop that day. She may have made it longer had it not been below 0 in Wyoming at the time.

Don't complicate things by trying to apply logic to what automakers, or dealerships do. You'll save yourself a lot of trouble.

Would be nice to have real official documentation of this warranty replacement in the event that you have warranty engine work denied and you have performed all the necessary maintenance.....

I do not know what fantasy world where the required maintenance is performed and warranty is denied but do not let anyone else in there.

Originally Posted by Linctex
Originally Posted by racin4ds
Lady from Maryland says it all...

You were the only one brave enough to say it out loud!!

Ahem.

Originally Posted by JLTD
Holy crap...doesn't even look that bad!

Maryland...that speaks volumes. Owner is from the DC area, where drivers are notorious for abusing their vehicles (apologies to BITOGers that live in the area and actually DO maintenance).

Looks like the varnish caused the problem.
lol.gif

I saw this numerous times, when I was a Master Tech at a Toyota dealer. People would buy or more often lease say, a Camry, and then NEVER change the oil. 30-50k down the road they would have 'issues'. Unsurprisingly, these were often the so-called sludge prone engines; 1MZ-FE, 5S-FE, etc.