Alternative to Gillette Fusion razor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted by jcartwright99
Which is better, Harry's or Dollar Shave Club? Been thinking on switching for a while. Not really about the commercial. I just think that it's really irresponsible to put something out like that. Lots of ramifications of butting your nose into someone else's business (violence for one).

I've heard mixed things about Dollar Shave Club. Harry's shaves almost as good as the Fusion - blades are made in Germany and the cartridge has a living hinge instead of the Fusion's mechanical pivot points.

Good shaving cream really makes a difference. I'm using Trader Joe's for now. Kiehl's is good stuff.

I was never a fan of following the razor rip-off trends. Decades ago I upgraded from a Gillette Track II to a Sensor and stopped there. Now I buy no name blades from the local Shoppers Drug mart.
laugh.gif

Originally Posted by DBMaster
I've been using a Merkur 34C for about 25 years. My current DE blade choice is Feather. The 34C currently costs about $45 (I paid $20 in the early 90s) and the Feather blades work out to 25 cents each. I can get almost two weeks out of a Feather blade.

Thanks for letting me know about the feather blades. I made the switch to a safety razor based on a chat here last summer. Took some time to get used to using a DE blade. I just upgraded to an Edwin Jagger razor this week and I like the heavier weight. I bought 100 dorco blades and another 100 derby blades for under $10 each last year. I replace the blades every Sunday.

I'll ask for some feather blades for fathers day then I'll have about 6 years worth of blades. Talk about another hoarding pastime.

What soap do you use for shaving?

Originally Posted by JC1