Lego Table build - glue choice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My son and I will be building him a Lego table together this weekend. I have everything I need except the glue to bond the Lego plates to the plywood table top. Any suggestions??? No, I don't want to use small nails or screws, I want it to look clean.

Contact cement? I assume you want it to last. Do it outside for sure due to heavy fumes.

A few details of exactly what is being bonded to the plywood would help.

Will the Lego top and plywood bottom be the same size?

Make the plywood oversize to allow for a border molding?

Glass over the Legos?

Something like this?

[Linked Image]

Locktite power grab

http://www.loctiteproducts.com/p/pg...-Grab-Ultimate-Construction-Adhesive.htm

I have no actual experience with this, but I might be tempted to use the following product because it specifically lists ABS plastic, which LEGO is supposedly made of: http://www.loctiteproducts.com/tds/PG_CA_EX_TBS_tds.pdf

If possible, scuff up the glue surface with sandpaper for better bite. Maybe use an alcohol wipe in case there is a mold release film present.

Id argue the opposite - are you sure you want these parts to be permanently bonded?

Id either want to size a little lip on the outer edges to friction fit the bases, or else use something really weak and removable, like maybe rubber cement or something like that.

The plates will be pulled upwards, a lot, hard, and often, as Lego blocks are removed. Permanent, tough bonding is really your only option, unless some kind of heat or chemical release is in the offing.

Clear epoxy! Build a perimeter around the edges of the plywood top using wood strips. Glue them down with wood glue. This needs to make a seal around the perimeter for the next step.