Unibody durability off road

Status
Not open for further replies.
A 3/4 or 1-ton is a bad off-roader regardless. Weight and length are not your friends. My WJ in 2WD will run circles around my Rams in 4WD hi or lo in pretty much anything serious.

The stiffer load carrying suspensions do no favors either. Not that my Rams are incompetent. My WJ just does pretty much anything they can do with greater ease.

I have no personal experience with the new ones but I punished the subarus I had decades ago and didn't experience unibody issues with them. The GLs were nothing I'd feel confident with in aggressive rough driving but the 97 legacy I had was absolutely stout. The only damage it sustained was from bottoming out on soft parts like the fuel tank. I was young, drove a lot of trails, and didn't dodge potholes during tight corners and it never, ever, had any alignment or chassis-softening problems. As long as ground clearance wasn't an issue, i'd feel more confident in that at speed than a wrangler. In addition, that one was an AWD with limited slip center diff, Not FWD with rear wheel assist. It was by far the most sure-footed vehicle for that kind of driving I've owned, though with limited power and all wheels pulling, it was not one for easy hooning on-road. It was a blast off road until moving past its clearance limits. I had a mild spacer lift on mine.